Loriville Gazette
2003 Mar 03 random observations

It's been a good week so far.

I was on time today to work and was on time to work once last week. I'm working on making it a daily habit. It's just so hard! One trick I thought was going to be highly effective - and hasn't been terribly so - is to put a second alarm clock across the room. Problem is... I get up to turn it off, go to the bathroom, then go back to bed. What the hell is wrong with me?!

I think a more effective trick would be to use one of those new-fangled alarm clocks that have a light bulb attached. I don't think I'd feel as cozy if a bright light was shining in my face. The reason why this won't work, though, is because I have to be thoughtful of M, who sleeps 2 hours later than I do.

But, since I am getting desperate, I may re-think that idea. If those clocks gradually increase in brightness, I might be able to jump out of bed and turn it off before it gets too bright.

Hmmm. Food for thought.

I'm heading over to the Ikea Zoo in a few minutes to pick up that bookcase I so fondly talked about in my last entry. I called them to double-check that they had received their shipment on Sunday. They had.

I'm very excited about this bookcase.

My work office is now sporting a new look. The blue rug, white lamp, and silver vase with yellow flower is now all set up and I'm slowly but surely filing and organizing all the random loose papers that have been stacked in various locations around my cube.

M and I joined Netflix last night. I don't think there's anything better than getting movie rentals delivered to your door. Now we just need to find more restaurants we like that deliver and we'll never need to leave the house!

I find it very curious and highly amusing that for the past year or so (soon after becoming engaged), the folks at Avenue have been sending me their catalog. This is a plus-size clothing catalog for sizes 14 and above. I am a size 6.

I don't understand.

The same thing has been happening to M: he is now mysteriously subscribed to Golf Magazine! He does not - and never will - golf.

Apparently, those sneaky marketing people think differently of people who are married and in their 30s. M and I have had several good laughs about it.

But that Avenue sure does have cute clothes! If I gain 50 lbs, I know where I'll be shopping.

Well, it's about time to pick up my bookcase. I'm tired and hungry and still have to do a lower body workout, to boot. The faster I get my damn errand finished, the better.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24