Loriville Gazette
2003 Mar 01 catch-up

Wow, I'm really surprised it's been 15 days since I last updated. What have I been thinking?!

I don't even know what to say... mostly because I can barely remember what I did yesterday, let alone 15 days ago.

One word: whirlwind.

Yesterday, I was finally able to take my car in to the dealer to get the stuff finished that was spelled out in my contract. They had to replace the front center air vent (one louver was missing) and the rear seat drink holder. And I also asked them to see why my front passenger tire kept deflating.

I had no idea that it was going to take all day. Fortunately, they let me borrow a car (a sporty Cadillac Catera) so that I could at least run errands while I was there in the east bay.

I went to Ikea.

Does that statement scare you? It scares me. Even on a Friday morning, the place was a zoo. I got really short and snappy with the salesperson because I had to wait in a 5-person long line just to order the file cabinet I wanted. And babies were crying and people were bumping into me during my entire visit. It was extremely unnerving.

I bought one big thing and several little things and was there for 3 hours. What a nightmare.

I bought some cute little homey things for my cubicle at work. I read in this month's Glamour that you can focus better and feel more relaxed if you add little personal touches to your office. So, I bought this cute blue round rug, a small white lamp, a silver vase, and a single fake yellow Gerbera daisy to put in the vase.

I can't wait to set it all up.

My main motivation for doing this is because I think it will be an effective tool in clutter management. If I want my space to be pretty, I will be less likely to leave paper randomly lying about. See?

Anyway, M set put together the file cabinet and - hold onto your seats - I was able to unpack two boxes! After living here for over a year, I still have boxes strewn about. But now I have two less to unpack and it makes me so happy.

My desk now looks clean and organized for the first time ever.

Now we just need to get a bookcase for the office. I found one at Ikea that would work perfectly, but they were sold out. That's really sad considering that I will have to go back there next week once they get more.

Oh, there are several things we need (like a China cabinet and an entertainment center with retractable doors) but we haven't been able to find the perfect pieces yet. I get impatient because we never have the time to go out and look at furniture yet I want everything tidy.

Well, I'd better get going now. I have to go over to M's parents house to join the family in painting the downstairs rental unit. M left about an hour ago, so I'd better follow soon. I stayed behind because I have to do the dishes and make the bed because Zaugi is coming for a visit tonight and I don't want to the place to look like the pigsty that it is.

Ciao!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24