Loriville Gazette
2003 Feb 13 delirium & television

Well, our second media appearance just finished airing on the local news. All I can says is... what is up with all my crazy facial expressions? I'm embarassed.

All in all, it turned out really well. Surprisingly, they used a lot of material from our interview, including my "some people lied" and "It became a game. I'd say, 'I'm going to be emailing until my fingers bleed!'"

I'm sad to say I'm sick again. I don't know what the hell is wrong with me. I even broke my own personal pact of not being sick again until March. Ha!

I am pathetic. It was only 5 weeks ago that I was sick with that hideous flu thing!

I have no idea what the culprit is this time. It started with a severe sore throat on Tuesday (coupled with blisters/sores in my mouth), followed by what I thought was a severe allergy attack. I called my doctor on Tuesday and made an appointment for a throat culture yesterday. I feared it might be strep. When I was at the doctor's office, I explained that I was suffering from allergies (or so I thought) and that the sinus irrigation was obviously not working. The doctor was surprised.

And then it just got worse from there. Fever, ear aches, horrible head congestion, flowing sinuses. I've gone through half a box of Kleenex since yesterday! And now: totally stopped sinuses. My head feels like it's going to explode. And my nasal "discharge" has changed in color, making me wonder if it's complicating into a sinus infection. WTF?!

I slept on the couch last night because I was keeping M up all night on Tuesday with my cursing, crying, and nose blowing every 1/2 hour.

I'm popping ibuprofen, vitamin C, echinacea, herbal supplements and vitamins like candy.

Again, what the hell is wrong with me? My theory is environmental allergies. But aside from living my life in a bubble, what can I do? How do people deal with severe environmental allergies?

I fear I'm becoming a selfish bore. Of course when you're sick, you can only think of your own agonizing self. Problem is, I'm sick a lot. And really. Who wants to hear all the gross details of my illnesses on a regular basis? It's not becoming.

I've got to curb my behavior. My new pact is that I'm not going to discuss my health issues in detail here. My health is something I will keep... personal.

I hope I feel better by tomorrow. M made Valentine's dinner reservations at a fabulous Cajun seafood restaurant. In today's delirium, I got so bored by spending two days straight on the couch watching bad daytime t.v. that I painted my fingernails a glossy cherry red especially for the occasion.

Now M is going to paint my toenails to match.

I'm going to flop down on the couch with a refilled water and wait for him to attend to my toenails.

Guten nacht!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24