Loriville Gazette
2003 Jan 27 Super Bowl angst

I just don't get the entire Super Bowl thing. The hysteria. The parties.

M's not a football fan but yet still had a hankering to go to a Super Bowl party yesterday. I told him under no circumstances would I be going. Instead, I stayed home and sat on the couch with a blankie over my lap drinking hot tea and watching dumb cable movies.

He doesn't understand my total lack of interest in it. He says, "But it's not about the football. It's about the socializing."

And I tell him, "Well, I'm not about to socialize while sitting around a television, thank you very much."

I told him that I'd never been to a Super Bowl party before, except that I may have stopped by my friend's Super Bowl party for a half hour when I was in college. I can't quite remember.

I just don't like the whole "sit around in someone's living room with a noisy television on while eating assorted greasy foods and making small talk" thing. I mean, I can't say anything philisophical about a damn football game... unless you count snide comments.

Oakland lost. I find it terribly ludicrous that the Raiders fans took to looting the Oakland streets once again, pretty much a repeat of last week's incidence (the only difference being that Oakland won last weekend). What a bunch of obnoxious thuggish hillbillies! Even the newscaster was making fun of them, saying "So tell me again why they're celebrating if their team lost?"

I could only shake my head in disgust. Stupid stupid stupid. I didn't need another reason to find football repulsive, but there you have it.

Thank god it only happens once a year.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24