Loriville Gazette
2003 Jan 24 thoughts of yoga

I went to yoga class on Wednesday. The first time in a month! I'm getting progressively better with each class; odd considering my infrequent attendance.

Now I can almost get up into a handstand on my own. It's something I've been practicing for several months. For some reason, I have a severe phobia of handstands (but not cartwheels, which I find especially unusual). I have this irrational fear that my arms/elbows/shoulders are going to give out and I'm going to smash the floor with my face.

And now I don't feel like I'm going to die before the end of the class, either. My tolerance is obviously improving.

I am still sore for several days after class, though. Maybe attending more often than once/week would help.

The best yoga instructor quote from last class: "Don't have an internal dialogue with your body. Your body doesn't understand English!"

Another good one: "You have to train your body to do what you want. If left to its own devices, it would sit around eating nachos all day."

Grueling work week it is. Time for me to crack the whip on myself. Godspeed! Thank heavens it's Friday.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24