Loriville Gazette
2003 Jan 18 something better this way comes

I am now the new owner of a beautiful Colorado Red 1999 VW Passat with comfy beige leather interior. It's so purty!

I got a super good deal on it, too. So much so that I'm actually shocked. I'd been internet watching this car for the past two weeks, so imagine my surprise when we learned today at the dealership that the listed price was actually $1,000 less than the advertised internet price. I don't know how or why that happened, but I wasn't about to ask.

The dealership let us drive the car to lunch (and our salesman reimbursed us for our lunch!) while M and I discussed our haggling strategy. Frankly, I was already so pleased with the asking price (but I wasn't about ready to tell the salesman that!) that I felt kind of weird doing too much haggling. But, since it's expected at dealerships, we formulated a haggling plan.

They accepted our offer! We ended up paying about $400 under wholesale, which also translates to $4,000 under private party retail and $6,000 under dealership retail. I'm very happy.

It wasn't as terrible as I expected. Our salesman, Jim, was very down to earth and friendly so I immediately felt at-ease.

My next task is to sell Beautiful Beast. The good news there is that we finally got that electrical problem fixed. Odd, long story there... but it turns out that the rebuilt alternator that we had installed was still broken and not entirely rebuilt. Go figure.

I had an enlightening visit with the doctor yesterday. The physician's assistant that I'd been seeing for the past year had left the practice since my last visit in October, which made me very sad. The good news is that I also like the new PA. She sat with me for 45 minutes while I told her all of my health woes.

For my migraines, she gave me some cutting-edge medication samples to try out. If they work for me, she'll prescribe more.

As for the other headaches, she said that they sound suspiciously like cluster headaches and that I should take ibuprofen for them, not aspirin.

She was a little baffled by the night sweats. She took blood samples to check for a thyroid problem, wants me to get chest X-rays in case it's tuberculosis, and gave me a TB test.

As for the super light irregular periods, she said we'll discuss it in March when I'm due for another pap.

As for my low immune system, she told me to stop taking the Flonase and try irrigating my sinuses every morning. She said it helped her tremendously and has helped everyone she knows who does it. I already have a little Neti pot and use it almost every time I have a cold because it really cleans the gunk out.

Once I got home, I did tons of internet research and found that the practice has glowing reports! Benefits include a drastic reduction in colds and flus, no more sinusitis, and improved asthma symptoms.

Needless to say, I'm totally convinced. I'm on day two of irrigation, by the way.

The doc also said to take a multi-vitamin every day, as well as take echinacea as soon as I realize I'm on the verge of getting sick.

I also got a tetanus vaccine while I was there. I didn't know you were supposed to get those every 5-10 years. I was probably due. But damn, my left arm hurts (the site of injection).

As I said, it was a good visit and has me really excited about seeing results. No more sick days for me!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24