Loriville Gazette
2002 Dec 30 what I did the past several days

Thank heavens Christmas is over. It's not my cup o' tea. I don't see much point buying up a storm and driving all over northern California to attempt punctuated "quality" time with relatives. I always feel down after the festivities because it's always over way too fast... and I feel like I didn't get to visit in length with anyone. Christmas was made worse this year because I didn't have any time off. *pout*

The other thing I always wonder is 'why do we even celebrate this holiday?' None of us are relgious. And if I was, I'd probably be Buddhist.

Anyway, the festivities were nice but I'm glad they're over. I had to work on Christmas eve, but M (who's enjoying two weeks off) picked me up from the office so I wouldn't have to back-track. We immediately drove to Sacramento and spent Christmas eve with my mom. She always makes a really nice dinner; this year, she made roast beef. We exchanged gifts, drank eggnog, listened to music, and enjoyed a crackling fire in the fireplace.

Christmas morning, my dad came over for breakfast and we exchanged gifts with him.

We spent Christmas afternoon at my grandma's house with all the extended family and exchanged more gifts. Then we drove home to San Francisco that night because I had to work the day after Christmas.

We celebrated Christmas again with M's side of the family last Saturday. We had everyone over and I even turned on the oven (the first time in 6 months) and made sweet potato casserole! We had tons of food - I don't know why everyone brought so much food! It was insane.

One holiday down, one more to go. New Year's is another holiday I'm not too crazy about. There's not much point to it, in my opinion. Plus, if you want to go out on the town, you end up paying outrageous prices. Why?!

I'm proud to say that we have now returned all of our duplicate and/or un-needed wedding gifts. We even returned the musical bride and groom snow globe; yahooo!

It's so nice to have everything associated with the wedding finished. Now we just have to choose some photo albums and make up a few wedding photo albums. Oh, and write thank you notes to the vendors.

I got pre-aproved for a used auto loan the day after Christmas. I've already done lots of research and, strangely, I keep going back to the Passat. I still need to test drive a few to see if it's what I really want. The best place to do that is at a dealership, but the sales pressure at dealerships scare me. *sigh* I don't know what to do.

I'm so brokenhearted about selling my current car. This whole ordeal is painfully tragic.

We also had the misfortune on Friday night of seeing The Fly 2. It was on cable and we somehow got sucked in. Bad movie. Bad! However, we did get a kick out of seeing a young Daphne Zuniga.

And that's all I have to say 'bout that.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24