Loriville Gazette
2002 Dec 12 enough is enough

I don't know whether to laugh or cry. There is woman on my work team that doesn't know what the hell she's doing. She's been here over two years now. I seem to think two years is enough time for someone to learn their job. I'm apparently wrong.

And now we might miss our project deadline because I keep red-lining her project plans and she keeps ignoring my comments. This has happened TWICE already in the past two weeks. Sad thing is... I honestly think she's trying to do a good job. Am I supposed to conclude that this just isn't the right job for her? I'm beginning to wonder.

And then I start to think, 'Maybe this is my fault'. Maybe I'm expecting too much of her and asking her to do things that set her up for failure. Maybe I shouldn't expect her to design irrigation systems. Maybe I'm wrong to be frustrated. Maybe it's my fault she's not improving.

I'll have to ask my boss on Monday what I should do.

I hate this. Hate, hate, hate.

Today was our Christmas party luncheon. In past years, we've been able to leave work a couple hours early, after the party. Not this Scrooge-y year.

I guess I should brace myself for having to work Christmas Eve afternoon, too. Woe is me.

Christmas, my least-favorite holiday of the entire year, is rapidly approaching. It just occured to me yesterday that it was exactly two weeks away. Scary!

Guess I'd better get out into the crowd-crazed stores soon. My gift giving theme this year is "luxury". I'm going to get anyone on my gift list something they probably wouldn't purchase for themself. I think I have it figured out for just about everyone except for my dad. He's extremely tough to buy for. I already bought him a pair of cashmere hiking socks in New Zealand and some funny "Aussie animal dropping" candy in Australia (he has an odd sense of humor), but would like to get him some other things. I just don't know what.

I've decided I'm going to get M a nice digital camera. I've been researching cameras on various websites and I think I may have found a winner.

I asked M for diamond earrings because I've always kind of wanted them... and I have everything I need. I wanted a luxury "splurge" item. So, we're going to look at earrings and cameras on Saturday together, even though it's supposed to storm like something fierce.

Sunday is spa day with Zaugi; yahoo! We're getting enzyme baths, followed by a massage (for me) and a facial (for her). We're going to get lunch beforehand near the ocean. I'm sooo looking forward to it. It's been a long week.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24