Loriville Gazette
2002 Nov 25 la la land

We opened our wedding gifts yesterday. My mom, dad, and sister came into town for the spectacle. I did the unthinkable and actually cooked! I made a 3-cheese quiche and served it with champagne and a green salad.

The entire gift-opening process took about 2 hours. We received some great gifts. I'm really shocked at everyone's generosity. It has been making me think twice about the gifts I've given for weddings in the past because I'm overwhelmed by how much everyone has spent.

My favorite gift: a Tiffany lamp from my mom that perfectly matches the decor in our living room.

Most questionable gift: a large musical bride and groom snow globe. Neither M nor I collect snow globes... and neither of us are the traditional bride and groom depicted in the snow globe. Even worse, we don't know who it's from! There was no card attached. We have no idea.

I'm really excited about our china. We chose the pattern over the internet, hoping that we'd like it once we saw it in person. Turns out we LOVE it!

M's brother and wife gave us FOUR place settings!!! Yikes. That's expensive.

Having the wedding over is the best thing that's happened to me in a long time. It feels like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders. I feel peaceful, euphoric, and giddy.

My coworker came by my desk today and said, "Wow! You look great! Don't take that the wrong way... because I don't mean to say that you looked bad before. It's just that you look so relaxed and healthy and happy. It shows on your face. You don't look stressed out anymore."

(Note: I suppose she could be seeing the fabulous new makeup I bought last night at Bare Escentuals by i.d. cosmetics. These mineral cosmetics are the best ever! I bought two natural bristle brushes, foundation, blusher, mineral veil, and lipstick. The foundation makes my flawed and splotchy red skin look flawless, believe it or not. I'm amazed!)

Honestly, I do feel so much better. My time is my own once again. When I get home from work, I can now relax instead of pulling out the wedding planning notebook and working some more. I no longer have to worry about stupid details, like 'Is the florist ever going to send me the final contract?' and 'Who's going to place the favors at each place setting?'.

I can now concentrate at work once again! It's amazing how much I can get done when I'm focused.

Good news. The photographer has our prints finished. We'll be picking them up sometime this week.

More good news. SEVEN weeks and $3500 later, I finally picked up my car from the shop last Friday. It runs like a dream, if I say so myself.

Time to run. Ciao!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24