Loriville Gazette
2002 Sep 03 a story about how we found the perfect silverware

M and I bought The Silverware last weekend on Ebay. To fill you in, this is The Silverware that M�s been raving about for the last two years. An almost exact replica of my aunt and uncle's silverware, which he fell in love with the first time he saw it. 1929 art deco silverware called "Deauville" by Oneida�s Community series, to be exact.

It was nothing short of a miracle to find it. M had actually asked my aunt how she had found hers� and she went into this long, unbelievable story about how she found a partial set at an auction for a steal and then, 3 or 4 months later, found the remaining pieces at an antique warehouse.

Our own search had been futile up until last weekend. Now, we weren�t even looking for an exact copy; we were looking for anything that looked art deco. No luck there! We even started looking for modern silverware with a retro flair. No luck there, either. We were becoming discouraged.

Then, last weekend, while I was transferring our china registry to a different company (because I found a better deal on another company�s web site), I started thinking about silverware. I told M, "Well, we�d better come to a decision about some silverware. Either we�re going to register for a design we kind of like, or we can hold out and continue the search for perfect silverware in antique warehouses and vintage stores." Then I came up with the brilliant idea of checking Ebay (especially because I�d been browsing up a storm in search of the perfect handbag and buying some pre-holiday rush Christmas presents). First, a search for "art deco silverware" turned up nothing except for a place setting of some airline�s first class silverware. (?) M suggested simplifying the search to "deco silverware". Bingo!

What we found on Ebay is described as a "good condition full service of 8 with serving pieces". I tell you; it was like winning the lottery. We were giddy. The excitement was almost unbearable. We immediately purchased it with the "Buy It Now" option so we wouldn�t have to fool around with actually bidding on something we had to have.

Later that night, lying in bed with the lights off, I told M, "I�m really excited about the silverware." I could see his smile even in the dark. He said, "Me, too."

Now, does anyone else think this is� weird? Since when did we become neurotic about silverware? Is there something terribly wrong with us? Should we sign up to see a psychiatrist? Or is this simply the tip of the iceberg in the wedding planning hysteria? Hellina, I hope not.

I had my third wedding nightmare last night. The wrong cake was delivered. It was all wrong; all-white smooth butter cream with no design whatsoever. This was a far cry from what we ordered: ivory fondant with dark chocolate filigree swirls. I was hysterical. I tried to remain calm by rationalizing the mishap to myself, i.e. "Well, hell, there�s nothing I can do about it now. And does it really matter? It�s just cake! No one will know that I didn�t order an all-white smooth cake that doesn�t match anything else here. Does anyone really notice the cake, anyway?" It was a sorry situation.

I�ve been noticing pigeons lately. Ever since my sister singled one out and exclaimed, "Look! A red-headed pigeon!" I�ve been noticing their strange quirks. Most are gray. Some are white and only a small select are auburn. These birds are scruffy! Most look like they�ve been roughed up (feathers all askew) and a surprising number have only one foot. Almost everyone I know describes them as rats with wings. They are unafraid of humans. They get right under your feet so that you almost trip on them. I�ve witnessed their mating dance rituals: the male will dance around, bowing and swiveling, while the female acts uninterested and tries to ignore him. This goes on for quite a while. The men, they just don�t give up. It�s actually quite humorous.

So, as Jocelyn noticed, we were indeed on the Today show last Thursday. I stayed home that morning so that M and I could watch it together. It was a lot of fun! They actually did a better job with the entire segment than we expected and, fortunately, I wasn�t too embarrassed. It�s just so strange to see my profile while I�m talking (I kept turning my head to look at M, who was sitting next to me). I also noticed that I enunciate my words in an odd manner. Hmmm.

On another note, my friend from Germany is here visiting. Today is the first Tuesday of the month and you know what that means: free San Francisco museum day! Naturally, Ulli is museum hopping today.

On Sunday, M and I went bike riding through Golden Gate Park, down to the beach and back. I got a nasty sunburn on my back and a slight sunburn everywhere else that is irritatingly itchy. I didn�t think to wear sunscreen because it was going to be a short ride. We were only out in the sun for about 2 hours! My skin is apparently more virginal than I suspected. What will I do when I go to Australia and New Zealand? I fear that SPF 30 won�t be strong enough.

Seven-and-a-half weeks to go. Yikes.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24