Loriville Gazette
2002 Aug 26 where's Lori?

Exactly two months to go until The Wedding. Zoinks! M and I spent all of Saturday finishing up the addressing. 98% are finished and in the mail.

I find it so odd to be called a "Bride". What's up with that term? I took my dress to the alterations queen and she said to the assistant, "We have a bride here for some alterations. Can you help me take this order?"

So. I'm a bride. Weird!

Brides can get so crazy sometimes. There was a big to-do on the discussion boards about how ugly the new "love" stamps are. My take: Who really cares?! M and I bought the old-fashioned automobile and airplane stamps.

You're probably wondering where I've been (as usual). How do I put into words how crazy the past couple weeks have been? And, how do I do it in 1/2 hour (the remainder of my lunch break)?

I'll try my best.

It all started with an emergency trip to Salt Lake City to see my uncle in the hospital. It's a miracle he's still alive. I'd never heard of anyone surviving an aneurysm....

I spent a day and a half at the hospital in the ICU waiting room with the family. We kept ourselves occupied by playing board/card games, making phone calls, etc.

Finally, Grandma and Grandpa decided that they needed to get back home to do some chores and get a change of clothes. So we went up to Idaho and spent a couple days at my grandparent's house.

My mom, my brother, my sister-in-law, and I decided to take a trip up to Jellystone Park, since sister-in-law had never been there. So we trekked up to Old Faithful and stopped at a few geysers and bubbling hot springs along the way.

We saw elk. We ate ice cream.

That night, we stayed in Island Park at Uncle Lynn's cabin. We saw a theater production of Calamity Jane at the Island Park dinner theater, which was a lot of fun.

And then we went back to Grandma and Grandpa's... and I took a 4-hour shuttle to the SLC airport and returned home to the wind and fog.

It was very hot and dry there. My eyes burned and my lips cracked. I was always thirsty.

I tried my hardest to stick with my new healthy eating plan. I did okay, not great (I ate ice cream, for hell's sake!)... so you can imagine my surprise when I returned five pounds lighter.

Maybe it was the dehydration. I'm up two pounds now, for a net loss of three pounds. Oh, well.

Grandpa is funny. He kept announcing to all the extended family that I was going to have a baby in July. I think he expects me to get pregnant on my honeymoon; haha! And Gramps also announced that the baby's name is going to be Sally. (?)

I didn't want to break the news to him that I'm not going off birth control for another year, at least....

And speaking of babies, my NYC cousin had a baby on Tuesday. Little Max was born in under three hours! I didn't think that was humanly possible.

Then again, it doesn't seem humanly possible for a head the size of a large Ruby Red grapefruit to come out of a vagina, either. Yikes!

It just doesn't seem natural.

Neither does jumping from a high-rise to your death. That really happened... exactly two weeks ago at the high-rise next to mine. It was my last day in the office before taking off to Salt Lake. On my way to the post office during lunch, I passed by that building and there was yellow tape everywhere. On my way back to the office from the post office, there was a coroner's van parked in front. The coffee cart guy who sells coffee in front of that building said he saw her falling and heard her land.

So sad.

Well, lunch break is over. Gotta go.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24