Loriville Gazette
2002 Jul 21 a San Francisco weekend

The weekend was good.

Yesterday was a picnic in the park for M's mom's birthday. It was foggy and a little cold, but we all enjoyed ourselves nonetheless.

I also got a little closer to making this house a home by unpacking one box. At this rate, it will take me a year before I'm completely unpacked.

Today I washed my car ("four times a year, whether it needs it or not," is my motto) and went to the grocer. I spent soooo much money at the grocer but hey, I can probably eat off the groceries for weeks... if they don't go rotten first.

I made dinner tonight with the booty: roasted chicken breasts with a cilantro lime aioli sauce, cucumber salad a la Colz, green salad, and a bottle of pinot noir.

I wanted to go to the art store to pick up some gray calligraphy pens so I could start addressing some invitations, but the art store was closed. Dammit.

On A&E tonight, they played the made-for-television-movie about that younger Stayner boy who was kidnapped and returned to his family after several years of being molested by a stranger. Strange how they're playing it during the Cary Stayner trials.

I hope he's sentenced to life in prison. So what if he's insane? He hunted down, raped, and killed several women. They were pre-meditated murders. And to think that I was in Yosemite for the first time about a week after he committed the murders (and before the last body was found) gives me the creeps.

But his poor parents! They missed out on their younger son's childhood. The younger son died in a tragic automobile accident at age 24. Now their older son is convicted of heinous murders. Terrible!

My biggest fear is one day having a kid who's a mass murderer or a sex offender. I think I would rather kill myself than live with the guilt of knowing I brought a monster into society.

Tonight... tonight was also the season premier of Season Five of Sex and the City. Yahooo! I'd been waiting for this day since the bonus season ended... what, in January? A long time, regardless. It's nice to be able to look forward to Sundays once again.

Now I'm just waiting for Six Feet Under to start up... as well as the Sopranos. And that new HBO series with Uma Thurman and Juliette Lewis also looks good. I'll be a couch potato before I know it.

Oh! I almost forgot to mention my sublime facial! It was fantastic. Imagine this: Beautiful room with subdued light and hardwood floors. Soft music. Face cleansed three times. Facial scrub made out of crushed marbles. Steam. Extractions (ouch!). Facial massage. Toner. Rubberized seaweed mask.

My skin was glowing afterward, although a little pockmarked from the extractions. Ever since, however, my skin has looked so much better than before! Before I left, I bought some products that will hopefully keep blackheads at bay. So far, so good.

I go back in 6 weeks and will go again one more time before the wedding. After that, who knows. I can't continue to spend this kind of $ indefinitely. I'd like to but reality sometimes rears its ugly head.

Well, I'm tired. Time to hit the hay.

Today marks exactly five weeks since I started my improved workout plan. If I can slip into my bathing suit and have M take a digital pic of me before I pass out, I'll have a photo to document my results. Otherwise, it will have to wait until tomorrow.

I might post the pics if I'm brave. I'll have to think about it....

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24