Loriville Gazette
2002 Jul 17 I'm a sucker for scissors

I�m starting to worry myself. I put a bid on some "decorative scissors" on ebay. These are scissors that have a design cut onto the shears so that when you cut something, you leave cute little decorative edges. Like this:

I figured that we could cut the edges of our guest info inserts that we will be including in the wedding invitations. Wouldn�t that look nice? The troubling thing was that I became fanatic about winning the bid. If I won the bid, we would be paying about $3 (including shipping) instead of the $8 we would pay at the local art supply store.

The auction ended last Saturday and, since we were out of town last weekend, I didn�t get to keep an eye on the bidding. When we returned home and I had remembered that the auction had ended, I got hysterical. I reprimanded myself by telling M, "I should have used a computer in Sacramento so I could check in on the bidding. Dammit; I probably lost!" M looked at me like I was crazy. He said, "What�s the big deal? If you don�t win, we can buy them somewhere else."

And I was like, "No! We need to send out the invitations soon! And when are we going to find the time to go down to Flax and buy them? They�re $8 there! I could get them on ebay much cheaper....!" Yeah, I�m a nerd.

Fortunately, I looked on ebay to find that I had won. (!) That was a surprise! Total bill: $2.58. Nice, huh? They�re in the mail, traveling to me as I type. I think my winning was a total fluke, as the ones that are currently shown on ebay have a starting price of $4.20.

I�m a big bargain shopper. I get excited by a good deal.

Since I�m talking about wedding stuff, I might as well mention that the fiasco with the lodge has come to a close. It appears as though everything�s running as it should now. In case you were wondering.

We got all the antiques home from Sacramento okay. While we were there picking up all the stuff, M saw the perfect display cabinet for his models. So he bought it. Then we wondered how we were going to fit everything into the pickup truck. Miraculously, everything fit.

I returned home last night from work to find that M had rearranged the bedroom. It looks so much better! When we brought the armoire back last weekend, we kind of stuffed it in the bedroom behind the door. It was late, we were tired, and we didn�t want to deal with it. The current set-up has better feng shui.

The cedar storage trunk is much larger than we thought, which is a good thing. I think we�ll be able to store our bed linens in there plus The Cloud plus all our extra guest bedding. This makes me happy.

We are happy about the iron bench on the deck, too. I�m now thinking that I should get some potted plants and a string of lanterns to make things a little cozier and festive. We could use the space as an "outdoor room".

M also worked on getting the new display cabinet set up yesterday. He had moved all his models and figurines from the living room into the display cabinet, which is now residing in the computer room. Now I actually have some shelf space in the living room where I can set out candles, vases, and more books!

Things are slowly shaping up around here. Thank heavens because I still have things in boxes from January�s move!

I made an appointment for a facial for Friday, my day off work. This will be one and a half hours of grunge extracting bliss! I was referred to this salon by two different people on two different bulletin boards. Should be good.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24