Loriville Gazette
2002 Jun 28 confessions

I have a confession to make: I bought my first bridal magazine a couple nights ago. *cringe*

I'm not proud of this. However, after reading excellent reviews about Instyle Weddings magazine, I figured I'd see what all the fuss was about.

I read all of it yesterday. (Mind you, there wasn't much to read, being that it's full of advertisements (just what I expected!)). I liked that this magazine mostly interviews wedding planners for their articles... meaning there are a lot of good ideas about how to build a cohesive look and how to cut cost. I was most interested in their story on gift registries.

I even dog-eared some pages to refer back to later. But all in all, the internet has helped me so much better.

I was offended by one article about finding the perfect wedding gown, in which a wedding gown designer was quoted. She said something along the lines of, "Finding the gown that suits you is extremely important. How do you want the world to perceive you? Sexy? Innocent? After all, this is the day you'll be presented to society as a married woman."

I don't know about you, but that last sentence is just... wrong (for lack of a better word). I re-read it several times just to see if she really said it. I think it's an odd thing to say. Is she saying that your life starts once you're married... and that your life up until that point didn't matter? And does it really matter what you wear on the first day of becoming "married"? I'm flabbergasted.

These bridal magazines can't fool me. I don't buy into their stupidity.

The funniest part of this whole thing is that I felt really conspicuous and embarrassed to be reading it. While reading on the train, I'd turn the magazine over onto itself so that no one would know I was reading bridal stuff. I had to do this because there's typically a huge glossy picture of a woman wearing a veil on the facing page. That's a dead give-away.

I'm not a pre-occupied bride. I don't covet bridal magazines. I don't live for the day I get married. I don't care about having "the perfect wedding".

It's just so not me! I guess I'm just not the type to read bridal magazines. I think you have to be in order to read them.

--------------------------

David Bowie was on television last night doing a live by request concert. Except that it wasn't live.

Damn, he looks good! I repeatedly marveled to M about his hair. It looked fantastic. Then I asked M which female musician he would lust after if he didn't have me. He said probably Gwen Stefani. I told him, "For the longest time I loved Chris Cornell of Soundgarden. But now I'd have to say it's David Bowie." He supported my decision, saying, "Yeah, he's probably one of the most brilliant musicians of all times and he's possibly one of the coolest guys on the planet. I can understand why you'd choose him. I'd be worried if you said Billy Ray Cyrus... or someone equally disturbing."

We've decided we really want to see David Bowie in concert; he's coming to San Francisco in August. We'll have to keep on top of it because I'm sure it will sell out.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24