Loriville Gazette
2002 Jun 17 playing catch up

Well, I went home from work that last nightmarish Thursday half-dazed from exhaustion. It was a typical unpredictable San Francisco weather day: although it was still warm and humid when I left for work in the morning, it was cold and blustery by afternoon! Luckily, I keep an emergency wool sweater in the office for those exact occasions. Regardless, I was still so cold I had to stop off at a coffee joint to get a large cup of hot tea to warm my hands on the walk home. I busted through the front door to find, thank heavens, there were no visitors. I looked like death warmed over and felt haggard. M, when he saw me, said, "You don�t look so good."

I immediately drew a hot bath, climbed in with my hot tea, and relaxed. Then I got out, slathered on body lotion and peppermint foot balm, and went straight to bed.

When I woke up on Friday morning, I felt like a new woman. In fact, it was the first time in years that I woke up early enough to do a work out before work!

On Friday night, M and I met up with my dear friend, Sandy, her husband, and her husband�s friend Karen. We had a late dinner and caught up on chit-chat. I really miss Sandy.

Saturday, M and I went to Keith & Patty�s wedding. We got additional ideas for what we should and shouldn�t do at ours.

Sunday, I didn�t feel so well so I stayed in bed until 10:30, then reluctantly got up and cleaned the house from top to bottom, cut some fresh roses from the backyard for the vases, paid some bills, and started a new article. M did the unspeakable and even cooked me dinner! I think it had been over two years since that had happened....

Oh, I almost forgot to mention that I received my new workout tapes in the mail. I�m starting the program tonight. In 3-1/2 weeks I�ll have a brand new body; you just wait! I even had M take a before picture of me last night. I looked at in dismay and said, "Ugh. I have more fat to lose than I thought...."

The important wedding-related news? Well, let�s just say I finally came to a decision on the guest list issue. I�m no longer pained. If certain people are offended, they�re offended and I�ll have to deal with the consequences.

Oh, and talking with Sandy was very enlightening. She got married a little over a year and a half ago and she had some nightmarish stories to relate. One story involved several guests who RSVPd then didn�t show up (and, of course, the bride and groom were stuck paying the dinner bill for the no-show guests) while another involved guests showing up with their uninvited kids even when "adult reception" was specifically printed on the invitation. Yet another story involved their crazy DJ, who moved things so quickly the bride and groom never got to enjoy a slice of their own wedding cake.

The moral of the story? No matter what precautions you take, things will go wrong. I�m scared.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24