Loriville Gazette
2002 Jun 4 virus-y

I was sick again yesterday. Welcome to my life.

Why do I get flu-like sick every 6 weeks or so? What the hell is wrong with me? I woke up with a piercing headache yesterday, the same one I�d had the day before. I called the Boss and told her I�d be in a couple hours late due to trying to rid my head of pain. I got on the bus about an hour and a half later, head mostly better. While on the bus, I started getting waves of nausea and sharp stomach pains. I got on BART, thinking to myself that if it got worse, I could just get off at any station and high-tail it home. Three stations later, I got off and U-turned. And wouldn�t you know it but Muni was down (power outage). It took me one hour to get home from downtown! (Normally, it only takes 20 minutes.)

What a nightmare. I finally got home, undressed, flopped in to bed, and proceeded to sleep all day.

Today I�m feeling mostly better... just enduring minor waves of nausea and stomach pains. I can deal with it.

I�m just getting mighty embarrassed about calling in sick so often. My boss probably thinks I�m a wack-o.

But here�s some good news: I�m noticing more definition in my arms and shoulders, thanks to my diligence in doing the Buff Brides workout religiously. Wooo-hoooo! I�m on Week 7 of the program.

I�m on a roll: I ordered two more workout books the other day through half.com, both by Joyce Vedral. She�s perhaps the most well-known female fitness guru in the United States. I bought a book of her daughter�s (co-written by Joyce), called The College Dorm Workout soon after I graduated from college and it was excellent. In fact, I still refer to it occasionally to fill in information the Buff Brides workout doesn�t provide. Joyce Vedral is a master of creating abbreviated free-weight workouts that provide incredible results in a short amount of time. The two books I bought are called Definition and The Fat Burning Workout. I can�t wait to receive them and start the program.

I�ve also started doing Body Flex, the aerobic breathing exercises, again. I�m leaving no stone unturned in my attempt to get in shape.

Trollop is coming down this weekend to go to a special 2-1/2 hour T-Tapp workout with me. I went to one last December and was sore for 5 days afterward.

M and I rented Artificial Intelligence last night. I was disappointed. It started off pretty good then got really bad. The ending was ridiculous. I think it would have been much better if David had "learned" to love others, defying his programming capabilities. He was the first of his kind, right? He was a super robot. Why not develop the story and his character according to that premise? Instead, it became silly when he went searching for Pinocchio�s Blue Fairy so that she could turn him into a real boy so his mommy (who abandoned him) would love him. Two thousand years later, he�s surrounded by aliens and still yearning for his mother. Hello?! I expected more from Steven Spielberg.

Well, I think that's all I have to report for now. Tonight: ballet.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24