Loriville Gazette
2002 May 31 musings

This has been one draining week. So draining, in fact, that M and I opted not to go out to celebrate my publishing feat and fell asleep on the bed instead.

When we woke up at nine, we were too lazy to walk down the street to get food so we ordered in. Pasquales! Now I'm drinking a glass of shiraz and playing on the internet while M watches t.v. in the next room. Before coming to diaryland, I purchased three pairs of shoes through Cloudwalkers. Damn, I love the internet.

Maybe we'll go out and celebrate tomorrow night. I suggested going to Eliza's, then maybe seeing Unfaithful. My friend Lorena said that it was a good movie. And that it was "sexy". And that she was all riled up after seeing it. That sounds good to me.

I've been so extremely exhausted this week. Maybe it's because the weather has been warmer. I don't know about you, but it's taken a large amount of motivation for me to get up in the morning. Yesterday, it was, "only today and tomorrow, then it will be the weekend. You can do it!" Today it was, "If I can just drag myself in to the office today, I'll be home free."

I've also been 35-40 minutes late to work every morning this week. I've really got to do something about that. I've either got to muster super-human strength in order to wake up by 6:00 or else change my schedule. I'm seriously considering the latter.

Work recently uploaded some new web monitoring software. I can't help feeling that my privacy has been invaded.

It's not that I don't understand why they did it. I do. I just find it stupid that they don't block instant messaging and internet radio (i.e. the "real" drains on the system), yet they block one of the wedding planning sites I occasionally visit. What's up with that?!

I had my first allergy attack of the year yesterday. I was doing a site investigation in Sonoma with one of my coworkers. I paid for it dearly all day. My sinuses were plugged solid and I was just generally miserable. M and I rented Ocean's Eleven last night and I fell asleep 1/2 through it because I was so un-well and exhausted.

All this allergy nonsense happened because I've forgotten to take my Flonase for the past week or so. I learned my lesson! Immediately after getting home last night, I took a dose. This morning, I doubled my dose. Today I seem to be fine.

Oh! One more thing before I go:

Once again, I could have sworn I saw Rene, my ex-roommate from 10+ years ago, on the streetcar yesterday morning. And once again, I didn't get a clear view of her. And when I did, it was from about twenty feet away at an awkward angle. I'm still not 100% sure it's her. 99% of everything about her is dead-on. I don't know, though; there's something about her chin that's not right.

Isn't that weird? Her chin! But everything else is the same: her eye makeup, her hairstyle, even the way she paints her fingernails! The only other thing that's different about her, other than her chin, is that she's a little heavier.

As I was sitting there in the streetcar, I was thinking about possible ways I could approach her. I mean, it is a little awkward to approach someone in a crowded commuter streetcar and say, "Rene?" when it might not be her. So I decided against it.

I guess I'll just have to wait patiently with hope that I can see her again soon in closer proximity. What I do know is that she lives in my neighborhood! She gets on the streetcar 2 stops after me, down near all the great restaurants we always eat at.

It would be so surreal if we ever did see each other again and reminisce.

Well, I'm tired. I am also needing a refill on the wine. Then I'll go into the next room and snuggle with M.

Have a great weekend!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24