Loriville Gazette
2002 Apr 22 overdue update

It�s been so long since I last updated that I had to take a look at my last entry to remember when it was! How do you like them apples?!

My life has been crazy. As usual, when my life is crazy, I have much more to write about� but by the time I actually have a few spare moments to type up an entry, I can�t remember what I was going to say. I guess that�s no surprise, though.

Layne Staley is dead! I am devastated by this news. I have been a big fan of Alice in Chains since 1992. In fact, during the years of 1992 to 1995, I actually labeled them as �my favorite band�. When I went to Seattle in 1994 for a job interview, I couldn�t believe my good fortune when I saw drummer Sean Kinney in a bar. I raved about it to all my friends for months. Even now, several years later, I still consider their song, Nutshell, to be one of my favorite songs of all times. Rest in peace, Layne.

M and I just returned from Texas last night. Yee-haw! We were in Dallas/Fort Worth for Mike G�s wedding. M has known Mike since they were both teenagers in the local BMX riding scene. Mike met his wife, Cyndi, in the Albuquerque airport (Mike is a pilot and was returning to Oakland; his wife was returning to Fort Worth after a skiing trip with friends). They struck up a conversation at the security checkpoint� and continued the conversation at Cyndi�s gate. They made plans for Mike to visit Cyndi the following month. The visit must have been a success. After the visit, Mike moved to Fort Worth, proposed marriage 3 months later, and the rest is history.

Side note: I was surprised to find out how old Cyndi is. She is old enough to have a son my and Mike�s age... and she is a grandmother to her son�s four year old boy! This was especially surprising considering Mike�s last girlfriend was older, had kids (albeit younger than Cyndi�s kids), and didn�t want anymore kids, which was hard for Mike to swallow. Apparently it�s not an issue anymore.

I really like Cyndi. I think it would be impossible for someone not to like her. She is so genuinely nice and extremely hospitable (the phrase �Southern hospitality� applies to Cyndi). She�s the kind of person who you could immediately become best friend with. She speaks with that famous Texas drawl. It�s easy to see why Mike fell in love with her.

I am really surprised to say that I actually like Texas! I think the best thing about Texas is its people. What I love about Texans is their remarkable state pride. What other state proudly displays its state flag and plays up the kitsch?

In our hotel gift bag from Mike and Cyndi, we received �Everything Texas� trinkets: two Texas state flags, lollipops in the shape of Texas, magnets, patches, chili powder, etc. At the wedding, there were haystacks in front of the stage, a band with a slide guitar player, a groom�s cake in the shape of Texas, and, of course, a huge Texas flag displayed behind the bridal party.

Our first night there, Mike and Cyndi hosted a dinner and night out for all the out of town guests. We ate at Joe T. Garcia�s, a popular Mexican restaurant with good food and great margaritas. After dinner, we headed down to the Stockyards (Fort Worth�s historic district) to go to Billy Bob�s Texas, the world�s largest honky tonk! I wondered aloud, �what the hell is a honky tonk?� to which one of the other Californians guessed is a �country music bar/nightclub�.

I was amazed at how large it was. First on the agenda was watching the bull riding. We swilled beers and hooted and hollered during the show. After that, we danced a bit. I get really up-tight and tense when I dance with a partner because I step on my partner�s toes! Mike�s dad attempted to teach me the two-step, which wasn�t too successful. I was embarrassed. After a tequila shot and more beer, M and I danced in our own special way, not caring how ridiculous we must have looked.

The next day, slightly headachey, M and I slept in and then went to eat at this fabulous place called Joe�s Crab Shack. We had the most delicious crab dip. I ordered crawfish etouffee, the most delicious seafood entr�e on the planet. I hadn�t eaten it since I had fallen in love with it during my last trip to the South (New Orleans) in 1999.

The wedding itself was a lot of fun, probably because it was so different from any other wedding I�ve attended before. It was special because it was so individual. The chapel didn�t have air conditioning, so each program was printed on paper in the shape of a heart and attached to a stick to create a fan. Brilliant! Everyone used them.

The ceremony was really sweet. Cyndi�s two sons walked her down the aisle and the musical trio played a Beatles love song during the ceremony.

The reception was at an adjacent building, on the grounds of the Museum of Transportation (so fitting when you consider how Mike and Cyndi met). We had so much fun dining, dancing, and chatting with the other guests.

The day after the wedding, Mike and Cyndi hosted a brunch for out of town guests at their home. Cyndi�s house is incredible! When she bought it 15 years ago, she brought an historic 150 year old log cabin in from another site two hours away, rebuilt it, and added it on to her house!

We admired the grounds, with all the native post oaks, and the garden that Cyndi so meticulously keeps. We also played with Princess, their adorable Boxer puppy.

Soon it was time to catch our flight. We had enough time to see American Airlines� Museum before taking off to the airport. We were even able to go inside an actual C-3 passenger airplane from the 1940s! We also got to see an actual stewardess application form, probably from the late 40s or early 50s, where it asked for the woman�s measurements and marital status. (!)

We returned late last night from our whirlwind weekend Texas trip. Tonight we�ll get to see Our Show (a.k.a. Six Feet Under), which we programmed the VCR to tape for us. Tonight I also start my 6-month Buff Brides workout program. Cheesy, I know. However, it virtually guarantees that I will be buff within 6 months if I follow their workout plan. I�m game! I�ll keep you updated on my progress.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24