Loriville Gazette
2002 Apr 09 talk of bras, Hoover Dam, and a Las Vegas wedding

For some reason, I'm pre-occupied with finding a backless strapless bra for my wedding gown. I looked at several web sites (and several different styles) and finally decided I'd order the Wonderbra... mostly because the price was right.

So I did.

It came last weekend and, for the life of me, I can't figure out how it's supposed to work! When I put it on and fasten it at the back of my waist, the underwires are way below my breasts! There is absolutely no support.

I'm going to have to return it, much to my dismay. But now I'm wondering if my body just isn't cut out for a backless strapless bra or if I just need to try a different brand.

And, if I need to try a different brand, where do I go to find these backless strapless longline bras? I'm positive the department stores aren't going to stock many. And I really don't want to go to a bridal salon.

So that's what I'm dealing with at this moment.

M and I were in Las Vegas last weekend. Viva Las Vegas!

Actually, we didn't spend any time in Las Vegas proper. My good friend Mik got married in Henderson (a suburb just southeast of Las Vegas) and so we stayed at a hotel in Henderson. Plus, we spent our free time carousing the Hoover Dam, which is about 45 minutes south of Las Vegas.

Hoover Dam was phenomenal! Yeah, yeah... I know it's just a dam. However, the story of its construction is absolutely fascinating. The Colorado River had to be re-routed.

That, and the dam is twice the height of the Statue of Liberty and required millions of tons of concrete and precisely orchestrated construction activities. It was built in the 1930s, people!

With all the problems and deaths and insane work conditions (7-day workweeks with two days off a year - Christmas and 4th of July), I personally don't think it could have been constructed at any other time in history. It was constructed during the Great Depression, when people were starving and desperate for jobs.

On top of the engineering feat required to build it, it is architecturally beautiful with its art deco detailing.

After the tour and perusing the museum, we even took a helicopter tour of Hoover Dam and Lake Mead. That was fun!

Mik's wedding was beautiful. Being that it was the first wedding we'd attended since becoming engaged, we noticed the details we normally wouldn't have. For example, Mik and Lori's recession was the same song we chose for our recessional! Plus, we admired Lori's dress, the flowers, the cake (even took photos of it!), and kept keenly aware of the sequence of events.

Mik gave an incredible toast. He's one sharp public speaker! His sister said that he received a standing ovation during a toast at her wedding.

I'm very happy for Mik and Lori. Last weekend, at their wedding, was the first time I'd met her. She seems really nice; I think she and Mik are in for a very happy future together.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24