Loriville Gazette
2002 Apr 02 post-Easter

Yesterday was Cesar Chavez holiday, but you probably didn't know that because I'd guess 90% of the population didn't get the day off. I was one of the lucky 10%.

However, I spent my holiday in the office in order to catch up on some work due to being out sick with the flu for two days last week. And, by the way, I just have to say how much I love being in the office when no one else is. It was calm and quiet and I got a lot done.

Easter weekend was good. Buzzer and Troll came into town on Friday night. They spent Saturday together on their own while M and I went to Berkeley to meet with two potential florists.

Even though we haven't yet received any quotes, we've decided we want to hire the first florist we met with. We just really clicked with her. Even better, she actually teaches floral design at a local community college AND she loves the art nouveau period!

We're bracing ourselves for the quotes. The talk around town is that we should expect to pay at least $1,500 for our flowers! Isn't that nuts?!

Anyway, after our appointments, we went back home to meet Buzzer and Troll. We were soon joined by Hoo and Alfred. All of us went out to Italian food for dinner then, upon returning home, Hoo, Troll and I broke open a bottle of zinfandel and gossiped while the boys sat in the other room, talking amongst themselves and watching t.v.

The next day, all of us took a hike up to Turtle Hill before Hoo and I broke out the pots and pans and made brunch for everyone. Hoo had crepe duty while I whipped up the quiche.

The brunch turned out marvelously, if I must say so myself.

After our guests left, we relaxed by lounging around. It felt so good to relax.

Tonight I resume ballet (after missing last Thursday due to illness). I can't forget to drop off my new prescription at the pharmacy tonight before class.

Oh, and I just thought I'd announce that I'm going to begin writing an autobiography. While I was home sick and bedridden, I read a portion of a book titled Living Your Life Out Loud, given to me by Zaugi.

In the first two chapters, it talked about releasing your creativity and recognizing what you really want to do in life. Each chapter lists several exercises to practice these techniques. Lucky for me, I already do several of the "play" exercises (how can people not play? That amazes me!). One of the "unleash your creativity" exercises it listed that I was particularly fond of was to write an autobiography.

So I'm going to. The book suggested making each decade a separate chapter, which I think is a good idea.

Now I just need to find the time to write this autobiography. Thank heavens I'll only have to write two full chapters and begin a third. Too bad for me the chapters will be so long.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24