Loriville Gazette
2002 Mar 26 my hiking accident and the donut/dim sum place

I now have two large gashes on the palm of my right hand, thanks to my clumsiness.

On Sunday, Brendan, M, and I went hiking on the Dipsea and Steep Ravine Trails in Marin. Before we even got to the trail head, I tripped and fell face down, bruising my left knee and badly puncturing my right hand in two places.

We went immediately to the Ranger Station and got some bandaids. The bathrooms didn't have any soap, though. I attempted rinsing the pebbles and gravel out of my wounds; not sure if I got all of them. Then I re-placed the skin over the wounds and put the bandaids on before hitting the trail.

The hike actually went really well. This was the FIRST TIME on that trail that I didn't get totally winded on the return trek (all up-hill). And I wasn't sore afterward! However, I did limp the day after because of the bruised knee and now it's hard to write because of the scabbing right hand.

When we got back home after hiking, I attempted to clean the wounds only to find that the flaps of skin had already started fusing to the wounds! As a result, I wasn't able to remove the remaining gravel out of the sores!

This really creeped me out, but now I'm dealing with it. Besides, I've been told by two people that the body will eventually push the gravel to the surface, although it will be painful.

Another thing that we did last weekend was meet with the harpist that will be performing at our ceremony. We developed the repertoire list, signed the contract, and everything! I'm really happy about that.

Now all we have to do is secure a florist, a baker, and a DJ.

Just thought I'd mention that I had dim sum (a chicken bun) for breakfast this morning. Yummmm! A donut/dim sum place just opened up in our neighborhood and I thought I'd try them out while waiting for the train this morning.

Yes, I realize that a donut & dim sum place is a little odd... but not as odd as the fact that there is a Happy Donut right across the street. And nevermind that just two weeks ago, the donut/dim sum place was Broaster Chicken (same owners, to boot!).

They were nice enough, though. They gave me free coffee and the chicken bun was actually really good.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24