Loriville Gazette
2002 Feb 14 the day of red, pink, hearts, and chocolate

Hell. That's what my week has been like.

Only my luck would have it that I get TWO holidays during the month of February yet not get to enjoy them due to work overload. I had Tuesday off work (Abraham Lincoln's birthday, didn't you know?) and spent Monday night and most of Tuesday slobbering over myself and huddled in a ball due to a migraine.

Tomorrow is my day off and I'll probably be working overtime... after a haircut and follow-up appointment with the structural therapist. Monday's another holiday (this time it's George Washington's birthday) and I'll probably be working more overtime.

Thank god I get overtime pay but I'd rather have the time off. I feel like I'm on the verge of a nervous breakdown.

-----------------------

That one company that's been trying to lure me into their firm called on Monday to tell me that they're sending me an offer letter within the next week or two. I was flattered yet horrified. I don't want to make any more choices right now! I need more stuff to think about like I need a hole in my head.

So, after much hemming & hawing and weighing the pros and cons and talking it over with several people, I've decided that, no matter what the offer, I'm not going to accept it. It may very well be the offer of a lifetime, but I can't handle any more change right now. The timing is so wrong.

--------------------

Yesterday, while I was riding the streetcar to work, I could have sworn I saw one of my very first college roommates! She was sitting one row up and across the aisle. I couldn't see her face very well; I mostly saw just the back of her head and occasionally some of her profile. But I could swear it was her! She hadn't aged AT ALL. She looked exactly the same as she did 12 years ago.

Now that I realize it was most definitely her, I'm sad I didn't say anything to her. Maybe I'll see her again on the same streetcar. She got on the streetcar a couple stops after I got on and she got off at Montgomery station. It was so odd to see her, like a flashback from my past.

This reminds me of an occasion last summer where I could have sworn I saw a long-lost college friend from my past on the 21 bus line. He looked a little older and wiser but otherwise looked exactly like the Mark I knew when I was 20. Turns out it WAS him! I had done a few google searches on him in the past, but yesterday I seemed to use the right search words. Just so you know, it makes all the difference.

He was a budding writer and actor when I knew him. He wrote books and screenplays and gave them to me to proofread. He even took a photograph of my lips one time with the intention of using them on the cover of one of his books.

Anyway, he's now artistic director of a theater here in San Francisco! And he writes theater reviews, many of which are posted on the internet.

I'm so glad to know he fulfilled his dream.

--------------------

So today's Valentine's day. I'm so bad with holidays, especially romantic ones. I was always repulsed by Valentine's day when I was single and I'm finding it's hard to shake that feeling. Regardless, M and I are going to celebrate by staying in because we go out to dinner every single night. This will be different and, hopefully, romantic... if I don't burn the chicken and cause a house fire (you never know, with my cooking skills). After a candlelight dinner with wine, we'll watch a romantic movie (which has yet to be determined) and maybe even take a bubblebath.

I may even stop by the floral shop on the way home tonight and buy some rose petals to sprinkle all over the house. Too bad he'll already be home by the time I arrive!

And now I must go. Adios, mis amigos!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24