Loriville Gazette
2002 Feb 11 spring is in the air

Welcome to Headache City. I always mistakenly seem to go there when I'm overwhelmed at work and don't get up from my desk for hours... like I've been doing just now.

Maybe I'll get up soon and go scrounge for some chocolate somewhere. I need a break. Hell, I need a vacation!

Speaking of such, M and I came to the sad and shocking conclusion that we probably won't be able to go on a vacation until our honeymoon. And considering how much we both need one, this revelation is catastrophic. What to do?

I got a call today from that firm that's been trying to "initiate" me. They were calling to give me a heads-up that they were going to be doling out an offer within the next two weeks and that I should start thinking if it's something I'd accept. They're getting a little antsy because they just got go-ahead to do a huge project that they need a designer for.

Frankly, this is a bad time for me to even contemplate it, with so many other things going on. Even worse, the company is located in San Jose... obviously not conducive to commuting. Plus, they're likely to start me at 2 weeks of vacation (I get 3 now). I'm big on vacation time.

However, this is an incredible offer for many reasons. One: I would be "head honcho" designer #1. Two: I could set all the design standards for the office. Three: Practically everyone who works there has worked there for a long time (i.e. it's probably safe to assume it's a great place to work). Four: They have profit sharing. Five: They are an innovative company in a cutting-edge industry. Six: I'm not yet sure, but I may be able to work from home some of the time.

But to actually have a choice is tough. It's not like I'm laid off and desperate. It's not like I don't like my job. I'm afraid to change my current situation because I've definitely made some poor decisions before where jobs are concerned (and when my job is hell, my life is hell). But to have something that could be better than what I currently have is tempting... although it's impossible to know if it will be better until I try it.

I don't know if I'm willing to try it. Is that stupid or smart?

I get tomorrow off work due to Abraham Lincoln's birthday. Isn't that amazing? If I worked at that other place, I most likely would be slaving away tomorrow.

I plan on sleeping in with M tomorrow. He works from home on Tuesdays and Thursdays and, as a result, doesn't need to log in until 10:30 or so. Maybe I'll even get some unpacking done.

I forgot to mention that I unpacked several boxes last Thursday when I took the day off to save my mental health. Having that day off did wonders! After my mopeyness passed, I tackled the living room.

I got so much done that when M returned from the hospital that night, he was awestruck. When I told him I'd only unpacked 5 boxes, he couldn't believe it, saying that it seemed like double that amount. The house seemed a little more homey and cozy.

Good wedding-related news: we found our photographer AND officiant! We're to the point where if we meet someone and like them, they're it. We hired the first and only photographer we met with, as well as the first and only officiant. Our lives are simpler this way. Less stressful, too!

Next task: finding musicians for the ceremony, a DJ for the reception, and a florist. Oh, and a baker to do the cake. I'm looking forward to attending the tastings! :)

Last weekend was nice. The weather was fabulous and, as a result, I made a point of getting out of the house both days to get some fresh air and sunshine. It really made a difference. My energy has returned to it's pre-flu level.

It feels like spring!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24