Loriville Gazette
2002 Jan 20 the nightmare continues

Moving = hell

I'm on Day 2.

To make matters even worse, I've been having nonstop allergy attacks since yesterday morning and I have two monster-sized canker sores right next to each other that burn burn burn every time I eat. Either it's been a long time since I've had canker sores or these canker sores are lasting a lot longer than I remember.

I feel like crying. Oh wait... I've been there, done that. Last night. When I was so fatigued and aching and tired that all I wanted to do was go into a coma... and yet my asthma kicked up and forced me to cough every few seconds and my sinuses were plugged. One would be bad enough, but both of these conditions left me gasping for breath. The result: virtually no sleep.

M and I were so worn out from a day of furniture/box moving (just the two of us, mind you!), we were in bed by 10. By 2:30, M said he was going to sleep on the couch because my coughing and nose-honking was keeping him awake. I told him that I would sleep on the couch instead because I could prop myself up on pillows and hopefully drain my sinuses.

So off I went. I then rummaged around in all my boxes while sobbing because I felt so miserable, trying to look for some asthma medication and decongestant. As my luck would have it, it was practically in the last box I checked. And it was from 1998. But I wasn't picky. I used it... and it worked! I also found some Theraflu. Both drugs worked well enough to keep me from coughing every few seconds and calmed the aches a little and, as a result, I was eventually able to get a little sleep.

Either I'm fiercely allergic to dust or I'm fiercely allergic to cleaning products.

I say this because today wasn't much better. We spent ALL of today unpacking a few boxes (strange how long unpacking takes). I worked on the bathroom. Thing is, I couldn't unpack the boxes until the bathroom was spotless. As a result, I've been having sneezing attacks all damn day. So, if I'm allergic to cleaning products, I'm allergic to Simple Green or Tilex.

Now the bathroom is finished and we've eaten Italian food and I'm working on my second glass of wine. My sneezing has stopped since I've relaxed a little. Strange how that works.

The house is in disarray and will probably be for a few weeks to come. I hate disorder, but I simply don't have the energy to stay up all night for several nights getting things in order.

I feel bad because my landlord showed my apartment today and we left it a mess yesterday. There are still some things I need to retrieve from there: my CD player, my TV, my linens, my vacuum cleaner, my kitchen appliances, and my silverware/stoneware. There are dust bunnies everywhere and half-packed boxes laying around. I still have to deep-clean the place, too.

Two of my lamps were broken in the move, one being my favorite. Grrr.

Luckily, I don't have to work tomorrow thanks to Martin Luther King, Jr. I need all the time I can get to get things in order. I need some time to relax, but that's not going to happen anytime soon. *Sniff*

Another glass of wine is calling my name. Adios!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24