Loriville Gazette
2002 Jan 14 wedding talk, part 2 (sorry, again!)

This hasn't been a good day so far. I woke up with the same headache I had yesterday and, as a result, I'm grouchy. I think it's my neck. It hurts!

So I'm taking lots of Excedrin and drinking strong coffee. Now I can't help but talk a million miles a minute. This isn't a good thing.

Well, I have some good news. We looked at those two places last weekend and fell in love with one of them. It's now ours!!!

It's perfect. Imagine: outdoor fall wedding beside a creek followed by a reception inside the historic lodge bedecked in dark hardwood, stone fireplace, stained glass windows, and cathedral ceilings. There will be candles and sparkly white lights. It will be so pretty!

It feels like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders. Now that the ceremony and reception location (and catering; it's included!) has been taken care of, I can rest easy for a while.

My sister recently asked me if I want a bridal shower. This is a tough question to answer. She knows I think they're terribly goofy. I mean, what's worse than sitting in someone's living room drinking punch and eating finger sandwiches while making forced small talk and playing silly games? It's so Twightlight-Zonish it's scary.

However, she had some ideas to make mine different from the frightful traditional scenarios I've experienced one too many times. Namely, she suggested having it at a cafe or a tea house and keeping it really small. I must admit I'm warming up to the idea a little. ;)

Oh, and here's another little tidbit of information: my mom brought my "old" wedding dress (the one I chose to get married in when I was engaged to Ratbert) into town for me, since she was here for a conference last weekend. Keep in mind that I haven't seen the dress for about 5 years. Well, turns out it was worse than I remembered.

I tried it on and almost immediately tore it off. It looked hideous! What was I thinking when I chose that dress 5-1/2 years ago?! I don't even know what got into me. The fit wasn't even flattering. I don't know if my taste has changed that much, or my body has... but whatever the case, I refuse to wear it.

So now I have to think about a dress.

Tune in next time when I talk about the perils of moving. I will, after all, be moving this weekend. Into Maurice's house.

Wish me luck.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24