Loriville Gazette
2002 Jan 09 major dilemma, seeking advice

*2nd entry today* (Will there be a third? I hope not!)

We found a reception location we love that had one remaining Saturday available in October. So we looked at two more places and decided we really did love the first place.

So we've been dragging our heels a little on getting the deposit to them because they're only open Monday thru Thursday from 9 to 4... meaning either M or would have to take some precious time off work to run the deposit over to the reception location.

So M called them this morning to tell the coordinator that we wanted the one remaining Saturday and could we just mail the deposit? She called back to say the last remaining Saturday had already been taken, as of two days ago!

Dammit. We're crushed.

So, here's my question: Should we opt to have our evening wedding on Friday night instead? Or should we go shopping for another place with a Saturday availability and take even more precious vacation time off work (almost every place we've looked at isn't available for showings on weekends)?

I'm at my wits end. I hate party planning. As a result, we're sooo close to hiring a wedding planner it's not even funny.

Frankly, since Friday really is my favorite day of the week, I'm all for a Friday night wedding and reception. However, I realize that many people might not be able to make it to a Friday night wedding.

Am I crazy to be considering a Friday wedding? Will our guests think we're nuts?

Help!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24