Loriville Gazette
2002 Jan 09 me and Tom Hanks = 1 degree of separation

Is it really January 9th already?! Sheesh. Well, happy belated New Year!

Our "mellow and quiet" New Year's Eve party turned out to be no such thing. More people showed up than we anticipated. Most everyone was at M's by 6, at which point we started eating and drinking (the guests brought all the fixings: lasagna, salad, appetizers, wine, champagne, cheese/crackers, French bread, etc.). After three hours of wine drinking, I was tuckered out (and it was only 9!), but somehow kept going and the hours between 10 and 2 flew by! At midnight, we had champagne and went up on M's roof deck. The weather was uncannily warm for the time of year. By 2:30, almost everyone was asleep.

There was much merriment and the alcohol flowed freely. I think everyone had a really good time.

The next day, after everyone left, M and I had our work cut out for us. Vacuuming up confetti and mopping sticky floors while slightly hungover is not my cup of tea. M did the dishes and cleaned up errant bottles and food. But we both agreed that throwing parties was better than going to parties because then everyone comes to us. We just get stuck with clean up, and luckily neither of us mind that. We just don't like set-up and food preparation. As long as we get volunteers to do that stuff, we'll be fine.

Maybe next year we'll have a better planned-out bash for New Year's and include all our friends. As long as no one minds floor space or pull out couches, all should be well.

Here's something strange: When M and I went to see Lord of the Rings a few weeks ago, there was a preview for the movie Orange County. Throughout the preview, I kept telling M, "We have to see this movie!" because, well, I used to live there and Orange County really is a weird place.

But then the credits came on, saying that the main actor is Colin Hanks. I couldn't believe it! I thought he looked familiar. I used to "babysit" Colin Hanks when I worked as an "Before- and After-School Care Provider" at a shi-shi private school in Sacramento a long time ago!

Yes, Colin Hanks is Tom Hanks' son; I knew that at the time. Tom Hanks is from Sacramento; he used to attend CSU, Sacramento (where I was a student). Although he no longer lived in Sacramento at that time, his ex-wife and kids did.

Colin was an awkward, moody 11 year old. He was a little unruly, too. One specific memory I have about him is how upset he was the day Lucille Ball died.

Colin has a younger sister named Elizabeth who's about 3 years younger than Colin; I wonder if she'll be making her first film debut soon....?

Anyway, so here's the kicker: While watching the news last night they had a big segment on the movie Orange County and the Hollywood movie screening and how Tom was there to support his son, etc. Then they mentioned Colin's age: 24. I almost fell out of my chair! He's already 24?! Hell, am I really that old? Nevermind that I was the tender age of 18 when I was a care provider... but still!

Sometimes I feel like I live my life in a time warp. Crazy, isn't it?

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24