Loriville Gazette
2001 Dec 31 happy new year

Happy New Year!

Tonight is going to be crazy. A lot of my relatives and friends of relatives are coming into town tonight for the San Francisco festivities... if we actually get around to leaving the house.

But! M and I are having a dinner party. Where we don't have to cook. Ha ha ha! Aren't those the best kind?

We actually didn't plan this. It kind of escalated into a big thing before we knew what was happening. At first, it was going to be a serene dinner with my two cousins and their significant others... then it blossomed into fourteen or so people.

My cousin offered to bake 2 lasagnas. I will make a spinach salad. My sister-in-law is bringing the rolls. My other cousin is bringing the h'or deuvres (sp?).

People will stay the night. I don't know where everyone is going to sleep. M has a one-bedroom house, for crying out loud! Besides his double bed, there is a pull out couch that can sleep two, a futon couch that can sleep two, and we have an inflatable mattress that can sleep two. The others can find floorspace (I hope there is enough!) or they are more than welcome to make the 5 minute trek to my house to use my queen bed and my pull out futon/couch for two.

All I know is that I'm not driving tonight. I will, after all, be sampling the wines and champagnes. ;)

Last weekend was weird because it rained nonstop. We saw two movies: the Lord of the Rings and Baraka. Both were excellent. We also cleaned M's house from top to bottom. I actually got down on my hands and knees and scrubbed his bathroom and kitchen floors. Plus, I vacuumed his entire house! There were just too many dust bunnies and lint pieces everywhere.

I figured that if I'm going to be moving into his house, it'd better be clean. There's no sense moving into a dirty place.

M also contributed a fair amount of labor. He installed a light in my future closet, organized some junk, cleaned the kitchen countertops, the bathroom sink, and the bathtub.

Yesterday, we went to the five and dime and bought things for tonight: silver balloons, a cheesy Happy New Year tablecloth, a string of silver beads to use as a table centerpiece, and little midnight noisemakers. Fun!

If we're successful in rounding everyone up, we plan to go down to the Embarcadero to see the fireworks tonight.

And now, I'm leaving. Time for the festivities to begin!

Happy New Year, everyone! And, happy birthday, Grandma!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24