Loriville Gazette
2001 Nov 05 weekend stuff

Mmmmm. Chinese food. I'm eating sesame chicken, teriyaki chicken, and green bean chicken right now....

Everyone in the office calls the place "Cheap Chinese" because you can get a virtual truckload of Chinese food with a canned soda for $6.10 or less.

The weekend was good.

Friday night's Thai feast/anniversary went well. Strange; at first we couldn't find the restaurant! (That tells you how long it had been since we'd been there.) Then, when we did find it, we were welcomed with a totally renovated interior. The food was good, but didn't seem as good as it was during our last visit.

Back in San Francisco, we rented Swordfish, a mystery thriller that even included a topless Halle Berry. Rumor has it that she was paid 1 million dollars for doing the movie because she took off her shirt. Whatever. I figured it was a post-production ploy to increase sales at the box office when they realized the finished movie was only mediocre. "Hey, let's shoot a couple more scenes getting full-on shots of Halle's breasts." Not that it made a difference....

On Saturday, I tidied up the apartment a little, put fresh sheets and duvet cover on the bed, and got my haircut. The last person who cut it did a lopsided texturizing job. Diva, who works for a Haight Street Salon, always does a great job for a very inexpensive price (I could say "dirt cheap" but I won't...). I have no idea what got into me to try out that other salon with rave reviews....

Sometimes you don't get what you pay for.

Zaugi arrived around 5:00. We decided to call it a mellow evening. We bought Henninger bier, rented Briget Jones' Diary, and sent out for a rostadoro pepperoni pizza. M came over to watch the movie with us.

Yesterday, after Zaugi left to go to her class in the east bay, M and I decided to spend the day outdoors because the weather turned out to be beautiful. We opted for a hike in Marin on the Dipsea Trail. It's our favorite hike. As usual, we got burgers at the burger stand on the beach in Stinson Beach and lounged around on the grass in the park before heading back up the trail.

It was a perfect day.

Back at home, I took a long hot shower followed by a long hot bubble bath. Afterward, I paid some bills and realized that I am dangerously close to running out of checks! I have one check left. I ordered checks about a month ago; I have no idea why they haven't come yet! Usually, the check company surprises me because I get my box of check 1-2 weeks after I order them.

Now what will I do?

I went over to M's later that night. We made dinner for the first time in ages! While he got into the shower, I ran down to the grocer and got all the trimmings for making taco salads. We finished cooking right in time to watch Toy Story 2 on cable.

Tonight it's date night. We're going to use one of our coupons at the Pig & Whistle, where we can get 2 entrees for the price of 1. Yow!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24