Loriville Gazette
2001 Nov 02 life goes on

So yesterday Governor Gray Davis announced there are "credible" threats against several California bridges. If these crazy terrorists succeed in destroying the Bay Bridge, my life will be a living nightmare. Especially if they get a wild hair and decide to destroy the underbay BART line while they�re at it.

So this is what I was thinking on my way into work this morning:

If both the Bay Bridge and BART were destroyed, I�d start inquiring around San Francisco to see if any San Francisco company�s employees in my profession who live in the east bay would want to do a "contracting trade" with me at my job. They could work at my job in Oakland while I work at their job in San Francisco until some transportation kinks are worked out. I�m guessing that in the event of that kind of tragedy, almost any office would be willing to do that.

So imagine this theoretical problem: If the terrorists were successful in destroying both the Bay Bridge and the Golden Gate Bridge and I wanted to visit my family in Sacramento, I would have to go down the peninsula, through the traffic hell-hole of San Jose, then up through the east bay and over to the central valley (how�s that for a run-on sentence?). This would add about 2 hours to a 1.75 hour trip!

So it can�t happen. They absolutely cannot succeed in this hair-brained mission, for the sake of my mental health. (Not to mention, of course, the loss of lives, the horrendous economic impact, the people-moving logistics, etc.)

And what gets me most is that clown, Osama bin Laden, who tells his followers, "Go kill yourself and others over there in the United States. It�s a great honor, really. You will live forever in Paradise (*chuckle*). Okay, so while you�re doing that, I�ll be hiding over here. Bye bye!"

What a kook.

I�m still using the bridges, dammit. If I blow up, I blow up. There�s no point living in fear. Just remember my post-mortem wishes.

Tonight M and I are going to be celebrating our three-year anniversary by eating dinner at the Thai restaurant in Alameda where we had our first date, approximately 3-1/2 years ago. We haven�t been there since I moved out of Alameda 2-1/2 years ago, so this will be a real treat.

Tomorrow, Zaugi comes for a visit.

Have a fun weekend!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24