Loriville Gazette
2001 Nov 01 November

Well, how do you like them apples? It's November!

Happy All Saints Day!

Last night I ended up dressing up as a trashy bridesmaid. I wore one of my many bridesmaid dresses, ratted my hair and used about 1/2 a bottle of hairspray, caked on the blush and black eyeliner, wore dark lipliner with much lighter super frosty lipstick, and wore light colored sandals with black fishnet nylons. M drew several fake tattoos on my body with watercolor ink pens: Marlboro, the Chevy logo, a spider web, and "I *heart* Bill (crossed out), Dave (crossed out), Jim".

Oh, and I carried a bouquet of fake flowers to complete the look.

I looked pretty hideous. Even worse, I felt self-conscious about it. Honestly, I looked like one gigantic fashion faux pas... a la the 1980s!

The Halloween party at M's brother's house was a good time. Luckily, it was a small gathering. I wasn't in the mood for a raging party.

To my dismay, M's best friend Brendan showed up later in the evening and rained on my parade. On certain occasions, he's okay to be around, but mostly he just makes my skin crawl. I think it's his insulting, condescending comments and demeanor. To my credit, I always try to make the best of it. Sometimes it works; sometimes it doesn't. It's quite obvious he's exceedingly insecure in order to act like that. Not that that's an excuse....

Last night, I felt pretty lucky because I only heard two insults out of his mouth. But whatever. Maybe he was having a good night.

Yesterday, I upgraded my chair at work to a Gymnastikball (tm). Several people at work went in together to get a group deal on the price. So now several of us in the office sit on a huge blue orb in front of our computers. It's quite fun! When I'm feeling saucy, I'll even gently bounce up and down on it.

Even better, I think it's really helped my posture and has decreased neck strain. Last night was the first time in a long time I didn't go home with a slight headache.

So there you have it.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24