Loriville Gazette
2001 Oct 31 Halloween is one of my favorite things

Happy, Happy Halloween to everyone! Today is a great day because today is my favorite holiday of the year. I always have so much fun on Halloween.

Earlier, the kids from the day care downstairs came by for candy. I had to run to Longs for Hershey Nuggets and Peppermint Patties so that I could be prepared for their visit.

They were so cute! There was a Winnie the Pooh, a butterfly, a ladybug, a Scotsman (in a kilt!), a China girl, a bumblebee, and a few others I can't remember. Funny; they didn't really know what was going on. They either grabbed at the candy or stared at it with their hand outstretched.

I've seen several co-workers in costume, too. I love seeing that! Especially in the office!

So tonight M and I are going to his brother's Halloween party and I have no idea what I'll be. He dropped this bomb on me on Monday night, saying "Oh, yeah. Joe's having a Halloween party. Wanna go?" Um, I guess so? I have no costume and no time to find one, given that I was told about the party on Monday night!

Costume suggestions are strongly encouraged.

At this point, I'll have to make do with things I already have in my closet. I may be dragging out my old vinyl go-go dress (a hit in my early to mid 20s but probably pathetic now that I've hit the 30s) or doing something with an old bridesmaid dress (yeah, like where would I ever wear it again, anyway?!). I was thinking maybe I could be Miss World and wear a "Miss World" banner, a jewelled crown, black eye makeup that has run down my face as a result of all the tears of joy, and holding a bouquet of flowers. Problem is, I don't have any blue eyeshadow.

Or, I could be a bridesmaid from hell with ratted hair, too much makeup, a cigarette hanging out of my mouth, and several skull-and-cross bone tattoos. Oh, and I'd have to wear shoes that don't match the dress.

Other things I have in my closet: a black witch hat, a hula hoop, and a silver masquerade mask with handle.

Last night, I went to see Zoolander with two friends from work. I wasn't too impressed. In fact, I expected it to be much better. A problem with too many comedies is that they end up being dumb, like this one.

On the other hand, M and I rented Office Space a few nights ago. Now that is a funny movie... and I'm not normally a big fan of comedies. The only other comedy I can think of that I loved is There's Something About Mary.

So there you have it. Lori's comedy movie review:

Office Space = good

Zoolander = not so good

Well, that's all for now. Have a happy Halloween! And enjoy the full moon tonight.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24