Loriville Gazette
2001 Oct 18 a boring entry about grocery stores

My car isn't sick anymore. I picked it up from the shop last night; now it's all better. Phew!

I went to the grocer last night for the first time in about 7 weeks. I went to the dinky Safeway on Cabrillo and 5th. Oh, how I hate that Safeway! They don't have much variety and they are EXPENSIVE!

Case in point: toilet paper at the little market on the corner costs about $1.39 for 4 rolls. At Safeway it was $4.39! And they didn't have any other brand with 4 rolls to choose from!!!

So get this: they had a 12 roll package for $5.69. This is a much better deal, obviously. But I live in a studio with minimal storage space.

What I want to know is where am I going to store a monster package of toilet paper? Right now it's sitting on the floor of my apartment, next to my bed.

I never go to Safeway if I can help it (about twice/year is too much for my comfort). Unfortunately, however, it's the only market in my neighborhood that is 24-hour and, therefore, works perfectly with my schedule as of lately.

Being that the corner market closes at 8 pm, I do my grocery shopping on the weekends. The bad news is that I haven't been in town on a weekend for the past 6 or so weeks.

Oh, and I forgot to mention that the Safeway was playing Bryan Adams' "I'm in Heaven" when I walked in last night. Life is strange.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24