Loriville Gazette
2001 Oct 04 rantings

I'm officially a dope. I have no idea what I was thinking when I donated an unreasonable amount to U.C. Davis' Annual Fund last night to the student telemarketer.

This student was sooo tricky. She was super friendly and bubbly. She asked me how I'd chosen my major because she's a new student and is having difficulty deciding on just one. She asked for my advice and I gave it to her. She then asked if I'd been back to campus since graduation (to which I said only once, a couple years ago, to use the library). She then said she had some upcoming events to tell me about (i.e. the homecoming game vs. Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, then Picnic Day, then the Whole Earth Festival). Then, after chatting for about 10 minutes, she hit me up for a donation. She asked for $1,000! I laughed. She then laid on the sales pitch and began her "marketing trek" down to $500, then $250. I told her to keep going. We finally settled on a donation amount. Immediately afterward, I felt pretty good about it but now I'm having second thoughts.

My years at U.C. Davis were the worst years of my life (when I told M that about a month ago, he jokingly said "They should put that quote in the college brochure."). I didn't tell her that. I didn't tell her that I paid for my entire education myself and that I'd just finished paying off my student loans. I didn't tell her that I didn't get to attend any of those fun events she told me about while I was a student there. I didn't tell her that I never wanted to see Davis again.

I should have. Because then I wouldn't be feeling so suckered right now. And today I'm wondering if she was a student at all... because her sales technique was so smooth.

But whatever. It's history now.

In other news, I accidentally spilled the beans to M about what I was getting him for his birthday. So now not one gift I'm getting him is going to be a surprise. Dammit!

So the Super Shuttle is picking me up at my house tomorrow morning at 3:20 am. Ugh. Tonight, if I get the time, I'll be painting my toenails "Pacific Ocean". But I have ballet class, then I still need to pack. So who knows if I'll get the time for trivial things like toenail painting.

I'm tired and stressed. On top of everything, work is crazy busy. I'm overwhelmed. I just want to be on vacation already.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24