Loriville Gazette
2001 May 29 Memorial weekend festivities

Caice software training. All week, and some of next week. Ugh.

The weekend was good. I spent Saturday studying, napping, studying. More napping than studying, I'm afraid. It's amazing how the simple act of making flash cards can zap the energy out of a person.

I've been overly tired lately. Did I already mention that I fell asleep around 8:30 on Friday night, on M's couch? I guess that's what lots of good food and wine can do to you.

Friday night's TJ's Gingerbread House was divine. The feast started off with a fruit plate, which you eat with chilled forks (!). Then came the shrimp remoulade. Then the "sassy" cornbread (that's what TJ calls it, honest!). Then the chicken and catfish etouffee. We split a dessert afterward.

And, of course, there was a bottle of merlot.

After gorging, we drove off into the sunset to M's house. The last thing I remember is that I was cold, so I laid down on M's couch with a blanket. The next thing I remember, M is shaking me awake. It's 11:30.

I was a little disoriented, like I had been under anaesthesia. I got up, did my night time ritual of removing my makeup, washing my face, brushing my teeth, etc. and went straight to bed and slept 8 more hours.

And, like I already mentioned, I slept throughout the day on Saturday while attempting to study.

Sunday was fun. M and I woke up early to go out to breakfast before my hair cut appointment. Then we went back to my house and spent the next several hours in bed. After lazily getting out of bed around 3:30, we went to his house and rented Dune 2000. Dune 2000 is 4 hours long and pretty good. I had never read Dune so M had to explain several things to me along the way.

After the movie, we went out for a 11:00 pasta dinner.

Yesterday (Memorial Day) was good, too. Despite spending several hours being very productive in my studying, M and I took a late lunch break. We decided to go down the street to get burritos and eat them in the park since it was such a beautiful day out.

While eating our burritos, we heard blues music coming from the vicinity of the "stage area". So, after eating, we sauntered on over there. Sure enough, there was a blues band playing and lots of people and food and drink booths, etc. We ended up staying about 2 hours! We enjoyed a beer, we people-watched, we saw M's brother and one of M's childhood friends. It was a good day and I'm glad I got to enjoy a little of it.

After that, it was back to studying. Then I did the other unmentionable: laundry.

A good weekend, all around. I got some studying under my belt, I got some well-deserved rest, and I had some fun.

Now I'm ready for another weekend.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24