Loriville Gazette
2001 Sep 26 woe is me

I�ve been sick since Monday night. The stuffy head, sore throat, hacking "wet" cough kind of sick. And when I get up out of bed, my sinuses leak like crazy. Drip, drip, drip.

Poor, poor me.

I finally washed my hair today for the first time since Sunday. It was so greasy and gross.

Every time I�m home sick from work, I get annoyed by some sort of noise pollution. Today, there was a big food service truck parked in front of my apartment, unloading food to the cafe next door. While they did this, they left the truck motor running. It was so loud! After about 30 minutes of this, I got angry. The guys unloading the food were laughing and joking. I seethed. Finally, a total of 45 minutes later, they finally drove off. Why can�t they just turn off the motor?! People amaze me.

I�m going back to work tomorrow. I�m feeling mostly better. Plus, it�s been so nice here and it�s depressing being bed-ridden when it�s so beautiful outside. And laying in bed sleeping the day away and re-reading old magazines gets old fast. I hate feeling like I have no life. I missed ballet last night and yoga tonight. Just when I was getting back into the swing of things, my life unraveled. C�est la vie.

On Monday night, we got a doozie of a thunderstorm that lasted several hours. I came out of work and saw the oddest looking clouds. Everyone on the street was looking up at the sky. The clouds were black and mis-shapen. They were so unnatural. I almost expected the clouds to part and a UFO to come cruising through like that sci-fi movie I can�t remember the name of, or a funnel cloud to appear, or a swarm of locusts to start dropping from the sky.

The lightning started up almost immediately. Big forked lightning bolts lit the sky and created quite a show. Normally, I�d be ecstatic, as I love lightning storms, but the only thing I could think about was my car. The window weatherstripping I ordered won�t be here until late this week. I knew all the rain would be oozing into my car and leaving the seats all wet. As a result, I was uneasy on the BART ride back home and couldn�t completely enjoy the show.

As it turned out, I was so sick soon after I got home that I couldn�t even think about the car. I guess that�s a good thing; there�s nothing I could have done about it, anyway.

I made ice cream yesterday. My ice cream maker works wonderfully (now that I defrosted my freezer, that is)! I still had the leftover cream/milk/egg/sweetener solution that couldn�t be made into ice cream the last time I attempted it, so I just poured that into the freezer bowl and turned on the machine. 10 minutes later, I was eating soft-serve vanilla ice cream! Now I�m eager to try different flavors, like chocolate-almond and pistachio and chocolate chip. Yum!

Last night, I was feeling a little better so I went over to M�s house. We were going to go grab some dinner and then rent a movie, but by the time I arrived at his house, I was a wreck. I was coughing/sneezing nonstop and my nose was dripping everywhere. Plus, my head felt like it was going to explode. So M went down to Einstein�s and brought soup and salads back to his house for us while I lounged on his couch perusing my new Newport News Boutique Europa catalog (Danger! Danger! I saw lots of things I like!). We then watched Road Trip on cable.

Today has been extremely uneventful. I slept a lot. I got up once to heat up some canned soup for lunch. I checked email twice. I just finished a cup of hot orange tea. Now I think I�ll go back to bed.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24