Loriville Gazette
2001 Sep 24 not a weekend warrior

The weekend came and went without much ado. I can honestly say I really didn't do anything fun. Instead, I cleaned my filthy apartment all day on Saturday and defrosted the freezer on Sunday.

My freezer took five hours to defrost. Five hours even with a hair dryer. I guess it serves me right, as I haven't ever defrosted my freezer... and I've lived there 2-1/2 years. So there I was yesterday, on the floor and halfway inside the refrigerator, with a hot hair dryer pointed inside and removing huge chunks of ice the size of bibles from my refrigerator and freezer.

It was a mess. I hated it. I never want to do it again.

So now maybe my ice cream maker bowl will freeze properly. It's sad that I still haven't been able to make birthday ice cream! I will attempt it, yet again, tonight. Wish me luck.

I also tried to catch up on my sleep last weekend. I love sleeping. Especially on newly washed sheets.

In my last entry, I forgot to mention that I'm buying up a storm once again. I finally splurged and bought myself a cell phone. Only in case of emergency. I'm not one of those types that sits on the bus and makes phone calls to their dad back East to wish him a happy birthday (yes, I've seen that happen first-hand, unfortunately. I should have butted in and said, "tell your dad happy birthday for me!"). I'm also not one of those people that makes calls in their cars, cluelessly swerving and almost causing several accidents. I only want a cell phone in case I'm late for an appointment, stranded on a dark highway in a broken-down car, or saying last goodbyes to family members in a catastrophe.

I also finally ordered some parts for my car. Things like a trunk lock assembly, a windshield washer pump and T-fitting, and weatherstripping for my windows. They should arrive by the end of the week; yahoo!

The phone and the car parts are things that I need, obviously. What I don't need is more shoes. So, I promised myself that I wouldn't buy any more shoes for at least 6 months. I have so many right now I don't even know where to put all of them. Besides, with the car stereo and all the other mentioned stuff my credit card bill for next month is going to be outrageous. I need to give my credit card a break.

Well, that is all. Tune in next time when I talk about other random things.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24