Loriville Gazette
2001 Sep 05 Labor day weekend happenings

Well, I survived my day off hell, in case you were wondering (special thanks to Mimi for the nice words in my guestbook, and to Jocelyn for the DMV suggestion). I still haven't found my driver's license, though. I have no idea where it could be.

After I finished Friday's diary entry, I called M near tears complaining about my day. He was on the other line with the recruiter, so he called me back. After he called me back and after I complained about my day in a wavery, choking-back-tears voice, he said, "Well, aren't you going to ask me about the conversation I just had with the recruiter?"

He got offered the job! The recruiter asked him if such and such package was acceptable to him and, if so, she'd be sending out the offer letter. The offer was mighty plush. Of course, he said he'd accept.

We went out to a celebratory dinner that night.

Zaugi organized a birthday celebration for me on Sunday in Sacramento. All the family came and we had a really nice time chatting and dining on marinated barbecued steak, salad, ice cream, and my favorite cake: yellow with chocolate frosting.

Zaugi and Gary gave me an ice cream maker from my wish list! I'm really excited about it. As soon as I stock up on cream, I'll make a batch. Actually, now that I think about it, I'll make some tomorrow night, after my birthday dinner with M. Perfect! Note to self: buy cream tonight.

After the birthday party, M and I met Buzzer over at Grandma's house so that Buzzer could adjust the gear shift on my car. Well, one thing led to another and before we knew it, it was 2 am! Things that were fixed: gear shift, trunk light, rear passenger window electronic motor (now the back passenger window goes up and down - yay!). Things that were attempted but not fixed: the emergency brake, the back-up lights.

The next day, Zaugi and Gary made macadamia waffles for breakfast. Yum! Then we went to meet Turnip at her house so that M could remove her stereo from her old car so that she could have it insalled in her new car. The visit turned into a fiasco. Turnip can be so manipulative. She tried her hand at manipulating me and I snapped. There was anger and yelling. Needless to say, M and I were back in San Francisco earlier than planned because we left Turnip's house much earlier than we anticipated.

Yesterday, I took the day off work to get that damned parking permit and to make an emergency visit to the dentist. My gums, back behind the left side molars, were throbbing and aching. The dentist took x-rays, looked at them, and determined there was an infection. He didn't know what caused the infection. He gave me a prescription for Veetids penicillin and sent me on my way.

I hate the way penicillin makes me feel. It's a sick feeling that I don't like one bit.

Last night, M and I rented Memento. It got raving reviews and my cousin, Sabra, highly recommended it. It's a disturbing movie, the kind that you mull over for days afterward. But it's also brilliant and very well done. I'm still thinking about it, trying to piece it all together. I'm still unclear on a few things. Still, though, it's an excellent film. Very unique.

Tomorrow I turn 31. The next morning, M and I are catching a flight to Seattle and Vancouver to celebrate. Yahoo! Then, the day after returning, I get to go to Fallen Leaf Lake/Lake Tahoe for a 4-day work training. I can tell already that the next two weeks will be busy. I'm hoping I'll get to update somehow before then. If not, you'll know why.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24