Loriville Gazette
2001 Aug 31 rotten to the core

It's been a rotten day. So rotten it's almost amusing. But I'm not laughing right now.

First of all, I was expecting my Fed Ex package from my car's ex-owner today by 10 am. One important thing this package contained was the car's title, which I'd be taking to the DMV today because today, after all, is my day off and who knows when I'd be able to spend 2 hours at DMV again within the next month?

I woke up early and everything so I would be somewhat presentable when the Fed Ex delivery person came. Well, 10:00 came and went. Impatient, I called Fed Ex at 10:30 to inquire about the missing package.

I was told standard overnight delivery means it will arrive by 3 pm. I was livid. If my package didn't come until 3, how would I also get to go to DMV? If I had known that it may not arrive until afternoon, I would have told the owner that I'd just drive down to the south bay and pick it up from him directly.

So, whatever. I was angry and there was nothing to do about it.

M came over on his way back from Good Guys. There's a doozie of a story, as well. Turns out everyone at the Good Guys is a moron, which, sadly, didn't surprise me at all. That's a long story I'll share with you later (it involves M buying a VCR there). P.S. - I now have my stereo installed... but there were more problems which I haven't mentioned here yet. Soon.

M and I went to get mahi mahi burritos, which really was the highlight of my day.

When we returned, I breathed a sigh of relief. The Fed Ex package had come!

I got my things together to take to DMV, then to the Parking & Traffic Department so that I could a neighborhood parking permit for my car. That's when I realized that my driver's license was missing! I panicked, then tried calming down, then panicked again. I always call M when I panic because he is my brain when mine shuts down. He told me to take my passport instead and that that should be adequate. So I did that.

It worked! After standing in the DMV line for an hour, I finally transferred ownership and registered the car in my name.

I then happily traveled downtown to the Department of Parking & Traffic to get my permit. Wouldn't you know it, but the office had a sign on the front door saying "Temporarily closed due to PG&E power outage". One woman standing nearby said she had been waiting for them to re-open for 2 hours! I waited for about 20 minutes, then one of the employees came out and said they were closing for the day.

I've been home, feeling dejected, ever since.

The icing on the cake is that I checked my unofficial exam scores from last June's licensure exam. There it was, in glaring red letters: Fail. The most disturbing thing, however, was that I actually did worse on this exam than I did on last year's exam. Plus, I can't even fathom taking the exam again in December. I can't bring myself to study for that junk again, especially because I don't know what to study anymore. Studying obviously does not help because I did more of it for this past exam than I did for the previous exams.

This isn't what I needed to deal with today.

Now I have to go. I have a haircut appointment in 1/2 hour. I hope everything goes well with that.

Over and out.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24