Loriville Gazette
2001 Aug 29 things and stuff

M is at his second interview with the company's Vice President right now. I think that's a good sign. He asked me last night which shirt he should wear to the interview so I chose the dark sage green shirt over the red one. He'll also wear black slacks, his black dress shoes, no tie.

His first interview was just two days ago with several people. He said everyone was very nice and he was really impressed with the company. He likes the hierarchy he'd be working under (he'd be reporting directly to the V.P.). Plus, he's exactly what they're looking for. He told me with wide eyes, "They are a profitable company, too, so that's a good sign." The only thing he's uncertain about is the location: Redwood City. He'd probably be able to telecommute twice/week but, still, he's concerned. He doesn't want to spend his life driving back and forth to the south bay like he did for 5 years in his past.

Still, if offered the job, he'll probably take it. He called his recruiter yesterday and told her he has a prospect but that he's still interested in a company that's located in San Francisco. She told him, "I have a feeling you should follow that job. I'm not seeing much available right now." Talk about an economic red flag! This recruiter can make a $20,000 bonus by signing him with a company! If she can't find anything for him (because, obviously, signing him with a company is in her best interest), there's nothing out there. That's a little scary.

I hope he gets offered the job. And I hope M likes the offer.

My car looks absolutely beautiful now that the tinting has been removed! That hose replacement didn't prevent the strong exhaust fumes from coming into the car. The fumes are so strong they burn my sinuses. I'll just have to take my car into a shop to fix that. I don't like having burned sinuses.

Tomorrow, the stereo will be installed. I was looking over my receipt last night and noticed that those "good guys" charged me for an extra set of speakers! Hello, I don't need 3 sets of speakers for my car! So I get $75 coming back to me, thank heavens. And they better not screw up anything or else they'll be sorry. I've had enough.

Last night was hellish. Wouldn't you know it but my ballet academy is on second summer break! I went all the way there for my 7:45 class and everything just to find that there will be no classes until next week. Great.

So I called M to tell him about the fiasco (he was going to be picking me up from class afterwards). He said, "Then why don't you just get on the N-Judah and come to my house? I'm getting in the shower right now." I thought that was a great idea. So I caught the N, but I caught it in the wrong direction and didn't realize it until it starting moving toward downtown!

It took 10 minutes just to get to the next stop because there were rail problems. The streetcar would go 5 feet then stop. 5 feet, then stop. Etcetera. I got off at Van Ness station to turn around and there were announcements that the trains were delayed because of some problem or another. I waited in the station 20 minutes before another N-Judah (going in the right direction) came!

Needless to say, by the time I got to M's house, it was the time he would have been picking me up from ballet anyway. What a waste. After I relaxed from all the streetcar stress, we went to Thai food.

Tonight, M and I are going to a mixer in Berkeley. Should be fun.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24