Loriville Gazette
2001 Aug 22 preoccupation

I can't get the car out of my mind. I'm preoccupied.

I was finally able to open a photo of the car (in PDF format, which the owner sent yesterday afternoon). I was ecstatic to find that the car looks brand new! The paint is perfect, the body is perfect, the chrome is perfect and gleaming. I don't think there's even ONE door-ding. I'm guesssing that the original owner kept it garaged since buying it in 1972.

The only thing I was disappointed to see is that the front passenger windows are tinted, which is illegal here in California. That needs to be removed.

And did I already mention that I'm going down there tomorrow to see and test drive it? Well, yes, I am. And I probably won't be able to rest until I do.

Good news: Owner says she'll accept a check.

Bad news: The "convenience checks" on my credit card expired (and therefore, are not-so-convenient, are they?). I called the bank last night and they said they don't know when they'll send out their next batch. They apparently sent me some new ones last month but I obviously threw them away, as I paid off that credit card and wasn't expecting to rack up a balance again so soon. 3.9% interest rate for the convenience checks isn't too shabby so it makes sense to use the convenience checks over taking out an 8% interest rate loan.

So now I don't have too many options left. I'll probably put a deposit down on the car tomorrow night then go back to outright purchase it on Sunday, when M gets back from Philadelphia. M will hopefully be my temporary loan agent (until I can write him a convenience check, that is). Otherwise, my only other option is to take out a temporary loan with Uncle Bevan.

In other news, I'll be missing ballet this entire week, to my dismay. Last night I didn't go (too tired and pre-occupied with the car situation). Tomorrow night I won't be able to go (because I'll actually be test driving the car). To make up for this, I'll have to do kickboxing tonight. I'm feeling sluggish. It probably doesn't help that it's "that time of the month". Plus, I'm feeling extra pudgy and bloated because I haven't been drinking my usual intake of water.

So there you have it. Life in Loriville is full of nonstop excitement.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24