Loriville Gazette
2001 Aug 21 thoughts on a Tuesday

Now for a quick entry, as I am at work and need a little breather.

My computer survived the re-imaging. I've spent the past hour copying my files back on to my computer from the server where I had them temporarily stored. All my work from the past three years were on the server and I couldn't help but feel nervous. What would happen if the server went all wonky, as has happened in the past, and started randomly deleting files, including some of my very important project files that I don't have copies of anywhere else? It would have been the end of my world.

As you can imagine, I'm very glad to have my files off the server and back on to my hard drive once again where they belong.

I did end up going out on the town last night with Kris. We went to the First and Last Chance Saloon in Jack London Square and drank beers before wandering over to Jack's Bistro, where we ate dinner and drank wine. It was a really nice evening. I'm hoping that Kris and I can become even better friends. She's a really fun to hang out with and I admire her tremendously.

As for the car, I'm feeling very "on pins and needles" about it. I don't want anyone to snap it up before I get a chance to. On paper, it's absolutely perfect; exactly what I've been looking for. Honestly, how can that be possible in a car that rare? That's why I feel like I need to act fast.

I've been researching used car loans. I don't have $7500 in liquid assets sitting around in my bank account, unforunately. I was pleasantly surprised by the good interest rates on used car loans... but WHY do banks make it so ridiculously difficult to purchase a car through a private owner? As a result, I'm not considering a loan anymore because the ones I've come across require that the buyer and the seller be present at the bank or the notary to do paperwork before the sale can be final. This is outrageous.

So, in terms of financing, I'm not sure now what I'm going to do. I thought the loan process would be so much easier. I just want to write a check. Why is that so hard? I'm so close to just forgetting about loan stuff and writing a check through my MasterCard account. Then putting huge chunks of money onto it per month and paying it off in about 7 months so I won't lose tons of money on interest. Is this good or bad? Is there a better way? Advice would be much appreciated.

I'm sad to say I haven't been able to open any of the photos that the owner has sent electronically so far. She's sent both jpeg and gif and neither of them work. I have no idea why; I've never had that problem before. I think she'll try sending pics one more time, in PDF format. I sure hope it works this time.

Regardless, I think I'm going to drive down there to look at the car on Thursday night. In case I fall in love with it, I want to be able to make an offer. But I can't make an offer until I figure out the money situation. And I don't want to wait to long or the car might be sold to someone else.

What a vicious cycle.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24