Loriville Gazette
2001 Aug 20 fact or fantasy?

Two entries in one day... I never cease to amaze myself.

So I've had an email dialogue with a mint-condition 1972 3.0 CS owner today. Let me tell you this: I am so tempted by this car. I know I wasn't going to do any more car talk for a while, but this might just be "it".

This car is perfect in every way. It's exactly what I've been looking for (and I'm very picky, if you couldn't tell already). This woman, who lives in Cupertino, is the second owner (!). The original owner purchased the car in Germany and brought it into California at some point in the past. Since importation, it's been residing solely in California. I'm translating this into meaning smogging it with DMV hasn't been a problem.

It has a pristine metallic midnight blue paint job (!) and perfect black leather interior. It recently had a major tune-up, new tires, new radiator fan, new exhaust system, and new shocks. It has power windows, air conditioning (!), and is surprisingly reliable. Best of all, it doesn't burn oil like you'd expect of a car that age!

Oh, wait... this is even better: only 120,000 original kilometers (approx. 75,000 miles)!

The price is right. I'm hoping this isn't too good to be true.

Dammit, I wish M was in town. If he was, I'd want to drive down there and see it tonight.

In other news, I'm not sure I'm feeling up to going out on the town tonight with Kris. My head, believe it or not, is still pounding. I just feel generally oogie. However, I won't make any rash decisions yet.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24