Loriville Gazette
2001 Aug 14 the days of perfect San Francisco weather

Last night, because the weather was absolutely perfect, M and I took a couple beers, a baklava pastry, and a blanket over to one of the city's parks in the Pacific Heights area that has incredible, breathtaking views of the city. We spread out the blanket and watched the sunset while drinking Pacifico and Red Hook and nibbling the Greek treat and pondering "dog-owner social circles".

Afterward, when the sun set over a hill and it began cooling down, we walked over to Fillmore Street and ate at a delicious, reasonably-priced Mediterranean restaurant. We gave it the "super yummy" food review.

The most exciting thing that happened last night, however, was seeing all the available parking spaces on the streets of San Francisco! We saw 6 spaces on one block, then 8 on the next. I kept pointing them out and exclaiming, "Look at that one, over there!". It was unbelievable.

And rents have come down dramatically. Yesterday I looked on the internet again to price 1 bedroom apartments... and the price has fallen even more. Now I could probably get a 1 bedroom for $1100/month (just a month ago, it was $1300/month). Being that I pay $1050 for a studio, this appears to be prime time to consider moving.

Hooray for the dot-com crash. I like the new San Francisco.

Anyway, back at my house, we watched Snatch on video. I didn't follow it very well, probably because I fell asleep for about 10 minutes during the first 45 minutes of it. I was so tired I couldn't keep my eyes open. One thing I can say: I really liked the cinematography.

M was called for a job interview. Hopefully it will be tomorrow, before he leaves for Philadelphia for the next 1-1/2 weeks. He's a little disappointed that the job is located in Redwood City, but he was told that he could probably telecommute 2x/week. I have a feeling he's going to be more picky about the company than the location from now on.

His last company was run by dopes who didn't know what they were doing. How else do you explain hiring M for a huge salary at a 4-day workweek then laying him off 4 months later along with +/- 180 other employees in the 360 or so person company? What were they thinking?!

He should definitely be looking closest at the management practices of his next employer. In the high-tech industry, that seems to be what's making or breaking the companies right now.

He's going to be picky. Luckily, he can afford to be.

Since M will be leaving tomorrow night, I plan on having a wild weekend by having dinner with Zaugi (hopefully Friday night; hopefully Michelangelo) and going to Turnip's candle party. Crazy, huh?

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24