Loriville Gazette
2001 Aug 02 good and bad last-minute stuff

Yesterday was quite a day. M found out he got laid off. He's feeling pretty down about it. Mostly, his ego is bruised even though he realizes it's illogical for him to feel hurt and "passed over". I assured him that with 50% of the employees being laid off, it's nothing to take personally. Besides, he's only been at that company for four months.

So I treated him to dinner last night at Pasquales. And then we watched some taped Sex and the City.

He's not sure how soon he's going to start looking for a new job. He may take some time off first to work on his parents' house. He did, however, send an email to his recruiter to let her know he's interested in using her expertise again. So at least the cogs are in motion. M isn't too worried about the financial implications of being jobless, as he says he has enough in savings to live for two years if he had to. I think he's more worried about keeping up in the profession and having a good resume.

As for me, I found out yesterday that I'm going to Lake Tahoe this weekend. Yahoooo! I'm going with my dad, my sister, my cousin, and her boyfriend. We'll stay at the family cabin and do some day hikes around Echo Lake and some gambling at south shore.

The icing on the cake? I realized that I have tomorrow off work! Another yahoooo! With all the chaos happening lately, I hadn't realized that tomorrow is my Friday off. As a result, I get to leave town one day early and have a three-day weekend.

Isn't life grand?

M is jealous he can't go. He had already made plans to do a road trip to southern Oregon with his friend, Sam, for BMX riding at skate parks. So I'll be having a grand time without him.

Well, that's all I have to report for now. Enjoy your weekend!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24