Loriville Gazette
2001 Jul 31 thoughts about birthdays

M has been asking me what I want to do for my birthday. I find this a little odd because A)I am usually the one reminding him that my birthday is coming up and that we'd better get planning (he's usually not good with remembering dates), and B) It's not a huge milestone birthday or anything. I'm turning 31.

It appears as though the tables have been turned. You know that trip to Orlando I'm planning with my mom, sister, cousins, and aunts in October? I'm totally ashamed to say this... but M's 35th birthday is smack dab in the middle of the scheduled trip. I realized this two days ago and felt sick about it. I already purchased the plane tickets, too.

I figured I'd break the news to him during dinner last night. We went to our favorite restaurant in the entire world, Eliza's. He brought up my birthday again, suggesting taking a trip. I asked him what he had in mind and he said, "How about Seattle?" For those of you who don't already know this, Seattle is one of my favorite cities!

He said he'd pay the expenses for my birthday. Yahooo! We're thinking we may even go to Vancouver if we have enough time.

So then I sadly brought up my huge mishap about scheduling my Florida trip during his birthday. He appeared disappointed, but said, "That's okay. We can celebrate before." I explained to him that the airfare was only $170, so I really didn't have to go. He insisted. I then asked him if he could get a couple days off work so that he could go, too. He said he didn't want to intrude on an all-women's trip... and I suppose I don't blame him.

I feel so awful. This is a milestone birthday for him, for crying out loud! And I'll be on the other side of the country! If he scheduled a trip during my birthday, I'd be very upset. That's why I feel so rotten.

Luckily for me, he's easy-going. He doesn't seem too sad about the fiasco, thank heavens.

After we finished our incredible meal of celery salad, hot and sour soup, spicy chicken with basil, and Hunan beef, we went back to my place and watched two episodes of Second Season's Sex and the City.

As for his birthday, I'll have to make it up to him.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24