Loriville Gazette
2001 Jul 30 Monday blues

I'm feeling better, thanks to a particularly mellow weekend. It's a good thing I didn't go backpacking.

I didn't leave the house at all on Saturday. I stayed inside and cleaned the apartment from top to bottom. I even cleaned the old, moldy stuff out of my refrigerator. Boy, was that scary. The chocolate pudding would not "break up" and go down the sink. Pouring bleach onto it and letting it sit for a while didn't work, either. Eek!

I also bought some travel clothing on travelsmith.com. I can't wait to see how the items will look, fit, etc.

Yesterday, my cousin and her boyfriend came into town to spend the day with me and M. First on the itinerary: dim sum for brunch. Delicious! Next on the list: spending the day in GG Park. Hoo and Alfred brought rollerblades and M and I got on our bikes. The weather wasn't that great, but it was nice to be outside after being cooped up for several days.

There was a parade in the park for the Festival of the Chariot. A nice woman gave us some oatmeal cookies and told us to go to the festival further down in the park. "There will be booths and free food", she told us. We traveled on to see the buffalo, then stopped at the festival on the way back.

We realized that the festival was probably a Hare Krishna festival because there were people in orange robes walking around and because of the chanting (I suppose the chanted "Hare Hare Hare Krishna" gave it away). We found a spot on the grass and decided we'd taste the "Free Feast". We shared two plates between the four of us.

Well, put simply, the food was quite unusual. The deep fried crisp was pretty good, as was the saffron dish. The dessert, however, left much to be desired. We didn't know just what it was. It was the consistency of paste (the kindergarten kind, in jars), but appeared to be made out of grain because of the tiny black flecks throughout. It also had miniature white grape looking fruits suspended in it. It was sweet and tasted like banana.

M and I looked around for something with meat in it and couldn't because, apparently, Hare Krishnas are vegetarian. So we bought some cheese pizza and sodas.

Back at M's house, we watched two episodes of Sex and the City. Hoo had brought the entire second season on tape (6 hours, yahooo!) for me to borrow, which delighted me beyond belief. After Hoo and Alfred left, and after the current episodes of Sex and the City and Six Feet Under, we watched another second season episode.

Guess what I'll be doing in my free time for the next couple weeks? :)

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24