Loriville Gazette
2001 Jul 25 not quite back in the swing of things

Here I am again, writing from the confines of my apartment. I am happy to report, however, that I did leave the apartment today for the first time in two days so that I could run to Rite Aid for more medicine. I almost fainted on the way to my car because my head felt like it was caving in and unnervingly like I was being smothered to death.

But anyway, I chose the Robitussin COLD multi-symptom cold & flu medicine. It seems to be working fairly well. I still feel achey and my head's all wonky but other than that, all other symptoms are minimized.

It looks like I'll have to call the backpacking trip off. I'm disappointed; M's disappointed. What a downer.

I hope to go back to work tomorrow because Lord knows I won't be able to watch another episode of Jenny Jones or Judge Judy. My eyeballs ache too much to read.

Last night, my love brought me dinner and a movie. He brought me the absolute best salad in the world from Pluto's: a farmer's green salad with vinaigrette dressing, jicama, tomatoes, carmelized walnuts, and marinated steak (well done). As for the movie, he brought Best of Show - very funny.

There was an announcement at M's company yesterday that there will be layoffs next week. He's a little bit nervous. At first, he simply said that if he's laid off he'll just take the rest of the summer off, but now he's reconsidering. He's sad, though, because he really liked his 4-day work schedule.

That one guy from that engineering/architecture/planning firm in San Jose who wants to offer me a job keeps calling me, even though I told him that unless they have a location in San Francisco, I'm not open to considering an offer. I really don't want to talk to him. I left him a pretty detailed message and he called me back, disregarding everything I said. Was he even listening to my phone message?

Well, I'm off to check airfare to Orlando. My sister, my mom, and I are going to Disney World in October. Fun!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24