Loriville Gazette
2001 Jul 12 the neverending list of preparations

This headache is no fun. Why can't it be Friday already?

My shopping trip last night at the Emeryville Sportmart was fruitful. On top of purchasing the hiking shoes, I went a little hog-wild and purchased a backpack and sleeping bag as well. I figured I might as well because who knows when I'll have another free evening within the next two weeks. I can't, after all, climb Lassen without a backpack and sleeping bag.

The best part, though, is that I befriended a woman who was also trying on backpacks for her first backpacking trip who works at the San Ramon Sportmart and let me use her 25% employee discount! I'm still blown away that it actually happened. I saved over $60! I was looking at the backpacks all curious-like... wondering what all the straps and clasps and "hoods" were for. Hell, it was confusing. She didn't know, either. Then we just got talking about where we were going and how long, etc. She's going to Colorado with her sister and someone's kid (?) for a 5-day backpacking trip but get this: She is going to carry EVERYTHING! I thought she was crazy. She was looking at the extra extra large backpacks that have a 4800 cubic inch capacity. I think mine has 2500 or 3000.

Anyway, I left there marveling at my luck that I got a 25% discount.

I was able to check the hiking boots off my list. Then it was home to do laundry, apply self-tanner, and paint my toenails. Check. The laundry basket full of clean clothes is still sitting on the floor of my kitchen, I'm now sporting slightly tanner skin (I'll need to apply another coat tonight), and my toenails are a lovely silver.

Tonight: Ballet class, packing, washing my dishes, applying more self-tanner, and coloring my hair. Damn, will the vacation begin already?

I'm off to get Chinese food.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24