Loriville Gazette
2001 June 19 musical disappointment

I can't believe I forgot to mention last Friday night's concert in my last entry.

Let's just say I was disappointed. I specifically wanted to see The Cult but by the time I made it to the concert, they had already finished their set. Hello?! Aren't they the headliners?

No, it appears they were not. Guess who ended up headlining? Blink 182! I don't even like Blink 182. They remind me too much of Green Day, and I find Green Day annoying.

Staind performed before Blink 182. They were good, definitely better than Blink 182. In fact, we left about 3 songs into the Blink 182 performance because we weren't enjoying the music and because we wanted to get a head-start on the traffic. Lucky for us, there was NO traffic (surprisingly, it appeared as though most people actually wanted to watch Blink 182) so we sailed right out of the serpentine parking lot.

M was at the concert all day, but he said he didn't see many bands because he and his friends spent most of the day in the beer gardens. In fact, the first thing all of us did when I met them at the front gate is get a beer in the beer garden. We people-watched and noticed that the average age of the crowd was probably 22.

Upon looking at the band schedule, it was apparent I'd already missed The Cult. Dammit. From then on, I didn't care what we did because the remaining bands were Staind and Blink 182, neither of which I really cared for.

So there you have it.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24